Injured Moses to miss final Nigeria qualifier

The 26-year-old suffered the injury in Chelsea's loss to Crystal Palace two weeks ago.

Victor Moses of Chelsea goes down injured during the Premier League match between Crystal Palace and Chelsea at Selhurst Park on October 14.   -  Getty Images

Chelsea's Victor Moses will miss Nigeria's final 2018 World Cup qualifier in Algeria and the friendly against Argentina with a hamstring injury, while coach Gernot Rohr recalled in-form youngster Henry Onyekuru.

Nigeria had already qualified for next year's finals in Russia with Moses a key figure, but the 26-year-old suffered the injury in Chelsea's loss to Crystal Palace two weeks ago.

Rohr called up 20-year-old forward Onyekuru, who has scored seven goals this season on loan at Anderlecht from Premier League club Everton and made his international debut in a friendly against Togo in June. German coach Rohr also handed first call-ups to Norway-based Chidiebere Nwakali and young goalkeeper Francis Uzoho from Spanish club Deportivo La Coruna.

Read: Serbia parts company with coach Muslin

The Super Eagles take on Algeria in Constantine on November 10, before flying out to Russian city Krasnodar for the friendly with Argentina on November 14.

Nigeria squad

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United/RSA), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC Ifeanyi Ubah), Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna/ESP)

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong (Bursaspor/TUR), Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta/CYP), Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag/NED), Leon Balogun (Mainz 05/GER), Uche Agbo (Standard Liege/BEL), Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes/FRA), Ola Aina (Hull City/ENG)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda/CHN), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor/TUR), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City/ENG), Oghenekaro Etebo (Feirense/POR), John Ogu (Hapoel Be'er Sheva/ISR), Mikel Agu (Bursaspor/TUR), Chidiebere Nwakali (Sogndal/NOR)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City/ENG), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City/ENG), Moses Simon (Gent/BEL), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal/ENG), Odion Ighalo (Chang Chun-Yatai/CHN), Henry Onyekuru (Anderlecht/BEL), Anthony Nwakaeme (Hapoel Be'er Sheva/ISR)

Standby: Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa/TUR), Alhassan Ibrahim (Austria Vienna/AUT), Brian Idowu (Amkar Perm/RUS)

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :