Pogba, Neymar and Suarez not in Ballon d'Or top 10

The top 10 of the Ballon d'Or is yet to be confirmed, but it will not include Luis Suarez, Paul Pogba or Neymar.

Neymar celebrates for Paris Saint-Germain   -  Getty Images

Neymar, Paul Pogba and Luis Suarez have all missed out on the top 10 of the Ballon d'Or.

Luka Modric is the favourite to be crowned winner of the prestigious individual prize on Monday, with Cristiano Ronaldo and Antoine Griezmann his main competition.

Ronaldo and Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi have won the award five times each in a decade of dominance for the duo.

Neymar has long-been touted as a future winner of the Ballon d'Or but the Paris Saint-Germain and Brazil star ranked 12th in the final reckoning.

Pogba also missed out on the top 10 despite playing a leading role in France's triumph at the World Cup, with his international team-mate and Chelsea midfielder N'Golo Kante finishing four places higher.

Thibaut Courtois was 14th in the voting, the Belgium and Real Madrid goalkeeper the top player for his position.


Ballon d'Or positions 30-11:

29= Isco (Real Madrid), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)

28= Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid)

25= Alisson (Roma/Liverpool), Mario Mandzukic (Juventus), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid)

22= Edinson Cavani (Paris Saint-Germain), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Marcelo (Real Madrid)


19= Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

17= Karim Benzema, Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)

16= Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)

15= Paul Pogba (Manchester United)


14= Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea/Real Madrid)

13= Luis Suarez (Barcelona)

12= Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain) 

11= N'Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

IPL Special

  Dugout videos