Real Madrid players miss out again as Spain announces squad for WC Qualifiers

The new squad has seven changes from that of Spain's Euro 2020 campaign, with Pedri and Thiago both excluded.

(Representative Image) Spain is playing three Group B World Cup qualifiers, starting with a trip to Sweden, followed by Georgia and Kosovo.

Real Madrid players were overlooked yet again by Luis Enrique for Spain's National team as it gears up for its World Cup Qualifiers starting September.

Thiago Alcantara and Pedri were left out.

Naming seven changes from his Euro 2020 squad, Luis Enrique handed a maiden call up to Valencia midfielder Carlos Soler and Braga striker Abel Ruiz.

There were also recalls for West Ham United's Pablo Fornals - who last played for the senior side in 2018 - and Villarreal captain Raul Albiol, who last represented Spain in 2019.

Injured centre-back Sergio Ramos also missed out, as did Olympic silver medal trio Pau Torres, Dani Olmo and Mikel Oyarzabal.

Pedri, 18, has been given time off by his club Barcelona after playing 75 games in all competitions for club and country since the start of last season.

Thiago, meanwhile, is yet to start a game for Liverpool in the Premier League this term.

Spain is playing three Group B World Cup qualifiers, starting with a trip to Sweden on September 2 before hosting Georgia three days later and then visiting Kosovo on September 8.

It is top of the group with seven points from three games ahead of Sweden on six points from two matches.

ALSO READ | PSG rejects Real Madrid's bid for Mbappe, but agrees he wants leave


Goalkeepers: Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao), David de Gea (Manchester United), Robert Sanchez (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Defenders: Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Jose Gaya (Valencia), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid), Eric Garcia (Barcelona), Aymeric Laporte (Man City), Inigo Martinez (Athletic Bilbao), Raul Albiol (Villarreal)

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Rodri (Manchester City), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Mikel Merino (Real Sociedad), Carlos Soler (Valencia), Braiz Mendez (Celta Vigo)

Forwards: Pablo Fornals (West Ham United), Pablo Sarabia (Paris St-Germain), Ferran Torres (Manchester City), Adam Traore (Wolves), Alvaro Morata (Juventus), Gerard Moreno (Villarreal), Abel Ruiz (Braga)

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :