HI announces players for junior men’s, women’s camps

A list of 20 players each for the junior men's and women's camps has been announced by Hockey India ahead of the Youth Olympic Games Qualifiers in Bangkok.

These 20 campers will undergo close to seven weeks of laborious training under the guidance of their coaches. (Representational Image)   -  K. MURALI KUMAR

Hockey India (HI), on Tuesday, announced a list of 20 players each for the junior men’s and women’s national camps to be conducted here. The camps are in preparation for the Youth Olympic Games Qualifiers, to be held in Bangkok between April 25-29. These 20 players  will undergo close to seven weeks of intensive training under the guidance of their coaches.

The focus of the camps will be on the players's technique, fitness, speed, agility and skills as the Qualifiers will be a tough test with the best of teams from across Asia, taking part in the tournament.

The vision behind organising the national camp is to develop the players for the Youth Olympic Games to be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina in October 2018. Should India qualify, it will be the first time that the team will be taking part in a hockey event at the Youth Olympic Games.

“After observing the players from various states at the 8th Hockey India Sub-Junior National Championship (Men and Women), the selection committee picked the players for the camps,” said David John, Director High Performance, Hockey India.

READ: Women’s hockey: India edges past Korea by 3-2

Junior Men:

Goalkeepers: Sabyasachi Minz (Hockey Odisha), Tanuj Gulia (Hockey Haryana), Prashant Kumar Chauhan (Uttar Pradesh Hockey)

Defenders: Sukhjeet Singh (Hockey Chandigarh), Dinachandra Singh Moirangthem (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy), Akshay Avasthi (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy), Sanjay (Hockey Chandigarh)

Midfielders: Rabichandra Singh Moirangthem (Manipur Hockey), Yashdeep Siwach (Hockey Haryana), Maninder Singh (Hockey Chandigarh), Neeraj Kumar Waribam (Manipur Hockey), Bharat Thakur (Hockey Punjab)

Forwards: Sunny Malik (Hockey Haryana), Jai Prakash Patel (Steel Plant Sports Board), Mohd. Saif Khan (Sports Authority of India), Mohd. Alishan (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy), Shivam Anand (Uttar Pradesh Hockey), Rahul Kumar Rajbhar (Uttar Pradesh Hockey), Sudeep Chirmako (Hockey Gangpur-Odisha), Simranjot Singh (Hockey Punjab)

Junior Women:

Goalkeepers: Khushboo (Hockey Bhopal), Bichu Devi Kharibam (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy)

Defenders: Priyanka (Hockey Haryana), Salima Tete (Hokcey Jharkhand), Ishika Choudhary (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy), Neelam (Hockey Haryana)

Midfielders: Baljeet Kaur (Hockey Punjab), Jiwan Kishori Toppo (Hockey Gangpur-Odisha), Chetna Rathi (National Hockey Academy), Preeti (National Hockey Academy), Mitali (Hockey Punjab), Philicia Toppo (Hockey Gangpur-Odisha)

Forwards: Sangita Kumari (Hockey Jharkhand), Deepika Soreng (Hockey Jharkhand), Mumtaz Khan (Uttar Pradesh Hockey), Lal Rindiki (Hockey Mizoram), Reet (Hockey Haryana), Deepika (Hockey Haryana), Rutuja Pisal (Hockey Maharashtra), Rojita Kujur (Hockey Gangpur-Odisha).

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos