Bhubaneswar to host Hockey Series Finals

The city, currently hosting the Hockey World Cup, will be host to one of the three Hockey Series Finals, an eight-team competition, in June, 2019.

Bhubaneswar is currently hosting the Hockey World Cup.   -  Getty Images

Six months after the Hockey World Cup, Bhubaneswar would witness yet another major tournament. The city is officially confirmed as host for one of the three Hockey Series Finals.

The eight-team competition would be played from June 6-16, 2019, with the top two finishers advancing to the Olympic playoffs, it was announced here. Besides India, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Russia, South Africa, and USA would be the other teams in the fray, with one team being confirmed after the last of the Hockey Series Open tournament in Lahore from December 17-22. Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Nepal and Uzbekistan are the contenders in the Lahore event.


The other two Hockey Series Finals would be played in Kuala Lumpur (Apr 26-May 4) and Le Tourqet, France (June 15-23). As per the new Olympic qualification process, the top two teams from each Finals would advance to a 14 team playoff, including the top-four finishers from the Pro League and the four highest-ranked sides not part of the Pro League or the Hockey Series. The teams would be divided into seven pairs playing home and away games, with the winner on aggregate earning an Olympic spot.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :