Hockey World Cup 2018: Full schedule, cross-over fixtures, match timings

The Indian team, led by Manpreet Singh, will start its hockey World Cup 2018 campaign against South Africa on November 28 at the Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar.

File Photo: Australia hockey team lifts the World Cup 2014 in The Hague, Netherlands.   -  AFP

The FIH Hockey World Cup 2018 is set to kick off on Tuesday, November 28, 2018 at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, India. The 15,000 capacity stadium in the state of Odisha will host 36 matches over 18 days with the final to be played on December 16.

The 13th edition of the tournament will see 16 nations --drawn into four pools of four teams each -- competing for the trophy. The hockey World Cup, which started with 10 teams in the inaugural edition in 1971, was traditionally played with 12 teams since 1973 (1978 Buenos Aires had 14 teams), has returned to the 16-team format after the 2002 edition in Kaula Lumpur, Malaysia.

World No. 1 Australia will look to win the World Cup third time in a row to go level with Pakistan — the most successful side in hockey World Cup history with four World Cup titles.

Gallery: Hockey World Cup top scorers

India had won the 1975 edition in Kaula Lumpur, Malaysia by beating Pakistan 2-1 in the final and will hope to better the eighth-place finish in the 2014 World Cup in The Hague, Netherlands.

The host has been grouped in Pool C alongside World No. 3 Belgium, South Africa and Canada and will open its campaign against South Africa on November 28.

Cross-over event

Each team will play three matches each and the group toppers from each pool will automatically qualify for the quarterfinals. The second and third-placed teams in each group will go through the cross-over phase where they will play the third and second placed teams of another group to qualify for the quarterfinals.

There is a probability that India, from Pool C, could face Pakistan, from Pool D, in the cross-over match if they finish second and third, or vice versa in their respective pools.

For example, at the end of group stage, if the below can be assumed to be the group standings, Belgium and Netherlands will qualify for the last eight, the cross-over matches will be India vs Pakistan, and Canada vs Germany.

Pool CPool D
South AfricaMalaysia


The bronze medal match between the losers of the semifinals will be played before the final on December 16.

Pool A

Argentina, France, New Zealand, Spain

Pool B

Australia, China, England, Ireland

Pool C

Belgium, Canada, India, South Africa

Pool D

Germany, Malaysia, Netherlands, Pakistan



Group Stage

Wednesday, November 28

Pool C - Belgium vs Canada – 5 pm

Pool C – India vs South Africa – 7 pm


Thursday, November 29

Pool A – Argentina vs Spain – 5 pm

Pool A – New Zealand vs France – 7 pm


Friday, November 30

Pool B – Australia vs Ireland – 5 pm

Pool B – England vs China – 7 pm


Saturday, December 1

Pool D – Netherlands vs Malaysia – 5 pm

Pool D – Germany vs Pakistan – 7 pm


Sunday, December 2

Pool C – Canada vs South Africa – 5 pm

Pool C – India vs Belgium – 7 pm


Monday, December 3

Pool A – Spain vs France – 5 pm

Pool A – New Zealand vs Argentina – 7 pm


Tuesday, December 4

Pool B – England vs Australia – 5 pm

Pool B – Ireland vs China – 7 pm


Wednesday, December 5

Pool D – Germany vs Netherlands – 5 pm

Pool D – Malaysia vs Pakistan – 7 pm


Thursday, December 6

Pool A – Spain vs New Zealand – 5 pm

Pool A – Argentina vs France – 7 pm


Friday, December 7

Pool B – Australia vs China – 5 pm

Pool B – Ireland vs England – 7 pm


Saturday, December 8

Pool C – Belgium vs South Africa – 5 pm

Pool C – India vs Canada – 7 pm


Sunday, December 9

Pool D – Germany vs Malaysia – 5 pm

Pool D – Netherlands vs Pakistan – 7 pm


Cross-over Stage

Monday, December 10

CS1 - 2nd Pool A vs 3rd Pool B – 4:45 pm

CS2- 2nd Pool B vs 3rd Pool A – 7 pm


Tuesday, December 11

CS3 - 2nd Pool C vs 3rd Pool D – 4:45 pm

CS4 - 2nd Pool D - 3rd Pool C – 7 pm



Wednesday, December 12

QF1: Winner of Pool A vs CS2 – 4:45 pm

QF2: Winner of Pool B vs CS1 – 7 pm


Thursday, December 13

QF3: Winner of Pool C vs CS4 – 4:45 pm

QF4: Winner of Pool D vs CS3 – 7 pm



Saturday, December 15

Winner QF1 vs Winner QF4 – 4 pm

Winner QF2 vs Winner QF3 – 6:30 pm


Bronze medal match – Sunday, December 16 – 4:30 pm

Final - Sunday, December 16 – 7 pm


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :