Rayomard Banajee triumphs

THE fifth round of the JK Tyre National karting championship in Ahmedabad was a welcome relief to the riot-hit local populace and the Road Rash Go-Karting track, in the suburbs of the city, was witness to some of the finest karting talent in the country, competing for the regional crown. The evening began with the current Formula Racing sensation Karun Chandhok, and 13-year-old International karter from Texas, Patrick, who was on invitation from JK Industries Limited, blazing the track in karts.

Surjit Saini (middle), who won the Senior Class at Goa, flanked by Rajesh Pawar, the runner-up (left), and Mahinder Jubal, who came third.

The 8-12 years dare-devils then took over the track in the Cadet Class race. Parth Ghorpade led from the world go and won the race comfortably, ensuring a berth for the Grand finale in Delhi. While Nikhil Kashyap and Veer Patel were fighting for the third position, Anuj Vasant, who was trailing behind them, took advantage and went ahead in the final stages of the race, to finish third behind Nikhil.

There were six entrants for the Ladies Class final. The ladies tried to outsmart each other on the racing track. Sachi Patel completed a `hat-trick' of wins as she retained the crown that she won in this class in the first and second edition of the JK Tyre National karting championship in 2001 and 2000. Priya Mehta and Amrita finished second and third respectively.

The hottest action was witnessed in the 12-16 years Junior Class. Dishali Patel, the only girl contestant was present in the race along with seven boys. Siddhartha Shah who took the lead at the start of the race held on to it to finish on top. Pavan Patel, who followed him relentlessly around the track, ended second, followed by Yash Vasant. Siddhartha will race in the Grand finale in Delhi in his class, representing Ahmedabad.

The last and final race of the day was for the Senior Class. This race had some interesting manoeuvers as Siddharth Shah took the lead at the start. Adil Amaan, Rayomard Banajee and Mahinda Maurya followed closely behind. In the sixth lap of the 14-lap race, Rayomard Banajee, who is known for his exploits in the sport, took charge and shot off into the front and took the chequered flag to the thrill and cheers of the crowd. Adil Amaan finished second and Mahindra Maurya came third. Rayomard and Adil will race at the Grand finale in Delhi in their class for the National crown. `Caliche', the first all-girls band of India, sent the crowd to raptures as racing ended and revelry began.

The results:

Senior Class: 1. Rayomard Banajee, 2. Adil Amaan, 3. Mahindra Maurya.

Junior Class: 1. Siddhartha Shah, 2. Pavan Patel, 3. Yash Vasant.

Cadet Class: 1. Parth Ghorpade, 2. Nikhil Kashyap, 3. Anuj Vasant.

Ladies Class: 1. Sachi Patel, 2. Priya Mehta, 3. Amrita. — Scorp News