TVS Racing all the way

G. Prasad, who was adjudged the overall champion.-

IT was Team TVS Racing all the way in the K-1000 motorcycle rally, which was held at Bagepalli on August 17. In the overall positions, four of the top five slots went to Team TVS. G. Prasad was adjudged the champion with a penalty time of 1:1739. C. D. Jinan, also of TVS Racing, came second, while his team-mate Vijay Kumar took the third sport. Akash Ithal of Yamaha finished fourth and H. K. Pradeep, also of TVS, took the fifth spot.

About 30 riders took the start at the State Youth Centre in Bangalore, but only 19 bikes finished the gruelling 357 km drive in and around Bagepalli. Prasad, riding a TVS Shaolin, stole the show from Vijay Kumar, who was leading up to the eighth stage but a broken exhaust derailed his effort in the last special stage of the rally.

For the first time, four Bajaj Pulsar bikes also figured in the rally in the Group D FS 4 class (161 cc to 185 cc) and the honours in this group went to Naveen Arali.

The results:

Overall: 1. G. Prasad (TVS) — Penalty time: 1:17.39; 2. C. D. Jinan (TVS) 1:17.41; 3. Vijay Kumar (TVS) 1:17.46.

Two-stroke: Group C modified: 1. G. Prasad; 2. C. D. Jinan; 3. Vijay Kumar.

Two-stroke: Group D: 1. Chetan Shivaram; 2. R. Mahantesh; 3. M. Gopinath.

FS 2: Group D (85 cc to 115 cc): 1. Rustom Patil (TVS Racing); 2. Deepak John.

FS 3: Group D (116 cc to 160 cc): H. K. Pradeep (TVS Racing); 2. B. V. Suresh (TVS Racing).

FS 4: Group D (161 cc to 185 cc): Naveen Arali; 2. R. Ganesh. — Kalyan Ashok