Umpiring gaffes in Sydney

AGAINST INDIA

■ Ricky Ponting ruled not out by Mark Benson on 17. Television replays showed he was caught behind down the leg-side off Ganguly.

■ Andrew Symonds, 30, ruled not out by Steve Bucknor. He was caught behind off Ishant Sharma.

■ Symonds, on 48, ruled not out by third umpire Bruce Oxenford. His foot was not grounded when M. S. Dhoni whipped off the bails. Anil Kumble was the bowler.

■ Symonds, on 148, ruled not out by Bucknor. He was stumped off Harbhajan Singh. The decision was not referred to the third umpire.

■ Michael Hussey, on 22, ruled not out by Benson in the second innings. Replays suggested he was leg-before to Kumble.

■ Hussey, on 45, ruled not out by Benson. He was caught behind off R. P. Singh.

■ Rahul Dravid, on 38, adjudged caught behind off Symonds. The bat made no contact with the ball.

■ Sourav Ganguly, on 51, adjudged caught in the slip cordon off Brett Lee by Benson. There were doubts whether Michael Clarke took the catch cleanly. The decision was not referred to the third umpire and Benson relied on the fielding team’s word.

IN INDIA’S FAVOUR

■ Ponting, on 55, adjudged leg-before to Harbhajan Singh by Benson in the first innings. The bat made contact with the ball.

■ Sachin Tendulkar, on 36, ruled not out by Benson. Replays suggested he was leg-before to Clarke.

■ Laxman, 16, ruled not out by Benson. Replays suggested he was leg-before to Lee.