Two-wheel rider Aravind KP will become the second Indian to compete in the gruelling Dakar Rally when he represents the Sherco-TVS rally team in the 2017 edition.

Aravind, who has been a part of the TVS team for the past ten years, will ride in the world’s toughest cross-country rally alongside compatriot CS Santosh, to be held from January 2-14.

The Bangalore-based rider started racing in 2005 and since then has won 15 national championships in Dirt track, Rallies and Motocross.

“It is quite an unbelievable feeling to be selected to race at Dakar Rally and I couldn’t ask for a better team to race for. TVS Racing and I have a strong relationship and I thank them for bestowing their faith in my abilities. The next few months of preparation with the Sherco-TVS crew will be crucial as I train on what it takes to participate in Dakar Rally 2017,” he said.

Aravind will team-up with Spaniard Juan Pedrero. The third rider for the team will be added soon. This is the third consecutive year that Sherco-TVS team will be participating in the Dakar Rally. The rally runs through three countries — Paraguay, Argentina and Bolivia — covering 9,000 km in distance.