Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team announces squad for Baja Aragon 2019

The Rally, taking place in Spain, is scheduled between July 25 and July 27.

Arvind KP (in picture) is one of the three Indian racers in the five-member team.   -  Special Arrangement

Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team on Tuesday announced its five-member squad for the upcoming Baja Aragon 2019. The Rally, taking place in Spain, is scheduled between July 25 and July 27.

The team comprises of Dakar veteran Michael Metge (France), Lorenzo Santolino (Spain), and three Indian racers - Aravind KP, Harith Noah, and Aishwarya Pissay.

With Aishwarya currently leading in women’s category of the Baja World Championship, she is aiming for her maiden international title in this prestigious championship.

The squad will race on the Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team’s Dakar machine – Sherco TVS RTR 450.

READ | Honda puts India in the fast lane

Mr. Aravind KP, Pilot, Sherco TVS Rally Factory Team, said, “After Dakar and Merzouga Rally, I am all set to pull up my socks and perform at Baja Aragon this year.  It gives me immense pleasure to be a part of TVS team and perform at an international level. Participating in the Rally with the most talented racers will definitely be a marvellous experience.”

Ms. Aishwarya Pissay, Factory Racer, TVS Racing, said, “I started my first ever international Rally from Baja Aragon last year. The Baja Aragon provides a good training platform for any racer, as they get to compete with international talent.”

The 827 km Baja Aragon is a tough and challenging Rally, particularly with high summer temperatures that add to the difficulty for the racers.

This edition will be the sixth in a row hosted by Teruel, with the route passing through the regions of Jiloca, Sierra de Albarracín, Cuencas Mineras and Community of Teruel.

Baja Aragon is the longest-running European event in the Cross-Country speciality and is in its 36th edition. 

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :