F1 Raceweek: Fond memories for Verstappen and Ferrari - Spanish GP numbers

Ferrari have had plenty of success in Spain over the years, but Red Bull will be hoping upgrades kickstart their season.

Max Verstappen celebrates his historic Spanish Grand Prix win   -  Getty Images

Max Verstappen has not hit the heights in Formula One this year but the teenager will have grounds for optimism on a track where he made history 12 months ago.

An 18-year-old Verstappen entered the record books when he became the youngest driver to win an F1 race at the 2016 Spanish Grand Prix in his first outing for Red Bull's senior team.

The Dutchman has picked up only 35 points from the first four races this year, but Red Bull are hoping upgrades will kickstart their season at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya this weekend.

Valtteri Bottas headed to Spain on a high following his maiden F1 triumph at the Russian Grand Prix last time out, while Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton will aim to respond to a disappointing fourth-place finish in Sochi.

Championship leader Sebastian Vettel holds a 13-point advantage over Hamilton after the four-time world champion finished second ahead of Ferrari colleague Kimi Raikkonen in the Black Sea resort.

Ferrari have a great record in the Spanish Grand Prix and will be looking to maintain their momentum on Sunday. Here we look at how the Opta numbers stack up ahead of the fifth race of the season:


12, 13, 14, 37 and 409 - Ferrari lead in Spain with the most wins (12), pole positions (13), fastest laps (14), podiums (37) and points (409). 

8 - Hamilton's sequence of eight successive podiums was brought to a halt at the Russian Grand Prix. It was only the fourth time since 2014 the British driver has completed a race and finished outside of the top three.

3 - The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is the only venue at which Red Bull have won with three different drivers: Mark Webber (2010), Vettel (2011) and Verstappen (2016). 

18 - Mercedes' run of 18 consecutive pole positions came to an end in Sochi, the third best such run in F1. 

10 - The last 10 Spanish GPs in Barcelona have been won by different drivers: Felipe Massa, Raikkonen, Jenson Button, Webber, Vettel, Pastor Maldonado, Fernando Alonso, Hamilton, Nico Rosberg and Verstappen.

5 - Should Mercedes take pole position in Spain they would equal Ferrari (2000-2004) as the team with the most in a row at the Spanish GP.

11 - Sunday will mark the 11th anniversary of home favourite Alonso's maiden Spanish GP win (May 14, 2006).

14 - Sergio Perez has earned points in 14 races in a row, the best active streak in the competition.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :