Gagan does it again in JK Tyre Hornbill Rally

Delhi's Gagan Sethi retained the JK Tyre Hornbill Rally title with co-driver Sabatullah Khan.

Gagan Sethi (left) and his co-driver Sabatullah Khan with the traditional Naga spears at the Hornbill rally.   -  Special Arrangement

The broken terrain looked pretty tight and tricky but defending champion Gagan Sethi (co-driver Sabatullah Khan) had been here before. The Delhi star played it simple and safe to
retain the title in the JK Tyre Hornbill Rally, a TSD event for four wheelers, here on Monday.

Gagan was delighted: “It’s my wedding anniversary today and I want to gift this title to my wife. I am sure she will be thrilled as much as me,” he said.

Initially, he was a bit sceptical about his victory chances as there were a few others such as Bijo Awomi (co-driver Chandrasekhar) and Tali Akang (co-driver Nirav Mehta) who did their bit as well. It was the first two Time Controls that had the drivers go a bit crazy. Obviously, they all had their fingers crossed for over three hours for the final results but when it was out Gagan rejoiced and, so did his partner.

From TSD, the focus now shifts to the Off-Road Hornbill Challenge scheduled for tomorrow (Tuesday). JK Tyres formalised off-roading in the North East region by introducing the 4x4 Orange Fury in Dambuk (Arunachal Pradesh) four years ago. The concept caught up with the adventure freaks and youngsters from this region.

The raw terrain and the picturesque ambience of Arunachal provided the perfect backdrop to explore escapades of the most challenging order. The active public participation from both the masses and the media had made this venture an instant hit as well.

Excited by this growth, it is now great to see that the Hornbill Festival has adopted this vertical as a part of its entertainment offerings. This will only encourage young talent in the region to make the best use of their opportunity to reach greater heights.

The results

Open: 1. Gagan Sethi & Sabatullah Khan 00:00:29s; 2. Bijo Awomi & Chandrasekhar 00:01:44; 3. Tali Akang & Nirav Mehta 00:02:05.

North East Class: 1. Alex Suohu & Akhrielie Vizo 00:09:44; 2. Thejakkielie Zuyie & Moamar Imsong 00:10:59; 3. Anguzo Sekhose & Mengu Yhome 00:12:29.

  Dugout videos