Marquez claims dramatic Australian GP win as Vinales crashes out

Marc Marquez overtook Maverick Vinales with a lap remaining to continue his hot streak as the latter crashed out at the Australian GP.

World champion Marc Marquez overtook Maverick Vinales, who crashed out, in the final lap at the Australian GP.   -  Getty Images

MotoGP champion Marc Marquez extended his winning streak after claiming a dramatic victory over Maverick Vinales on the final lap at the Australian Grand Prix.

Vinales had been the man to beat throughout the weekend in Australia, where the Monster Energy Yamaha rider earned pole position after qualifying was pushed back to race day due to adverse weather conditions on Saturday.

Last year's Australian champion Vinales – at the front of the pack having pulled clear with 18 laps remaining – appeared on track for back-to-back Phillip Island victories until he was overtaken by world champion Marquez at the death.

READ| Maverick Vinales clinches pole at Phillip Island

Marquez sensationally moved ahead of Vinales, who then lost control and crashed out as the Spaniard desperately tried to reclaim the lead on Sunday.

It continued Marquez's dominance, with the Repsol Honda star and six-time world champion recording his fifth consecutive victory in a classic finale.

Marquez also surpassed Mick Doohan for the third most premier-class wins by celebrating his 55th, having equalled the Australian's total during his comfortable Japanese GP triumph last week.

Cal Crutchlow finished second, while home star Jack Miller was promoted to third as he secured the first Australian premier-class podium since Casey Stoner in 2012.

Valentino Rossi – a five-time MotoGP winner in Australia who qualified fourth fastest – finished eighth on a disappointing day for Yamaha.

Meanwhile, Rookie of the Year Fabio Quartararo and Danilo Petrucci did not finish after the pair were involved in a horror crash during the opening lap of the race. Petrucci lost control and careered across the track, crashing into Quartararo.

- TOP 10 -

1. Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda)
2. Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol) +11.413s
3. Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) +14.499s
4. Francesco Bagnaia (Pramac Racing) +14.55ds
5. Joan Mir (Suzuki Ecstar) +14.817s
6. Andrea Iannone (Aprilia Racing Team) +15.280s
7. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) +15.294s
8. Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha) +15.841s
9. Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar) +16.032s
10. Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team) +16.590s



1. Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) 375
2. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) 240 (-135)
3. Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar) 183 (-192)
4. Maverick Vinales (Yamaha) 176 (-199)
5. Danilo Petrucci (Ducati) 169 (-206)


1. Ducati 409
2. Repsol Honda 408 (-11)
3. Monster Energy Yamaha 329 (-80)
4. Petronas Yamaha 268 (-141)
5. Suzuki Ecstar 263 (-146)