National Supercross C’ship: C. D. Jinan takes top spot in foreign open class

The 44-year-old from Kerala makes an impressive return to Team TVS Racing after 11 years.

Impressive showing: Team TVS Racing’s C. D. Jinan in action on Sunday in Coimbatore.   -  M. Periasamy

Team TVS Racing’s C. D. Jinan opened his campaign with a scorching double in the race for the big boys — the foreign open class — in the first round of the MRF MoGrip FMSCI National Supercross championship at the Codissia grounds here on Sunday.

Jinan, a 44-year-old from Kerala is making a return to the team after 11 years. He has proved to his mates that he still has the fire to fight it out with the best in the business. He did not get the kind of start that he wanted in both the races but fought his way up quite early to finish on top in the first and the last race of the day.

‘Enjoyed the competition’

“I really enjoyed the competition today. The weather condition, hot and humid, was pretty tough but it was even hot on the track with everybody giving it their best shot. But I managed it all as the team provided me with a bike that did not let me down,” said Jinan, who was declared the Best Rider for his gutsy show.

Read | JK Tyre National Karting C'ship to expand this year

A. W. Tanveer of TVS Racing came up with an equally impressive performance in the same class. “The track looked easy in the first race but everything turned bumpy and tricky at the end. It’s been a long time for me as well and I am happy that I have improved much and in good shape too,” he said.

Anand Hariharan, Team TVS Racing’s Manager, was a happy man. “The Saturday evening storm threw a spanner in our works but the mechanics showed lots of patience and so did the riders.”

The season's opening round of the MRF MoGrip National supercross championship was on the verge of being called off on Saturday night as a sudden storm followed by heavy rainfall battered the pits, clayey terrain, billboards, and brandings.

After a long midnight meeting, GodSpeed Racing (Pune), the organisers of the show, decided to go ahead for the benefit of the riders and for all those who had worked hard for over a week in setting up the show.

"We had a detailed discussion to decide whether it was advisable to go ahead with the show or not. Some said `yes' and some `no'. But after a long thought we gave it the green signal as we had an army of people from here to help us through the show," said Shyam Kothari of GodSpeed Racing.

"Everybody put in their best effort the whole of last night as if it was their own event. They all believed the track would dry up. It was a huge challenge but we stood the test well," he added.

He said everything was reduced to nothing. "In fact, it broke our hearts but the best part is everybody, from the teams, to the riders to the mechanics, co-operated. It came from all quarters and I must thank each one of them for giving it a fresh lease of life."


The results (provisional)
  • Foreign Open class SX1: 1. C. D. Jinan (TVS Racing, 20 &, 20) 40 pts; 2. A. W. Tanveer (TVS Racing, 15 & 17) 32; 3. Rugved Barguje (TVS Racing, 13 & 13) 26.
  • Novice: 1. M. Karan Kumar; 2. K. Saravana Kumar (both Coimbatore); 3. R. E. Rajendra (TVS Racing).
  • Locals: 1. Kalimohan (TVS Racing); 2. S. Asaraddin; 3. Varun Kumar (both Coimbatore).
  • Indian Experts: 1. Kalimohan; 2. Jagadeesh Kumar; 3. R. Sabarish (both Coimbatore).
  • Private Experts: 1. S. Asaruddin; 2. T. Arun (Hassan); 3. Jagadeesh Kumar.
  • SX 2: 1. V. M. Mahesh (Thrissur, 11 & 20) 31 pts; 2. Suhail Ahmed (Bengaluru, 15 & 15) 30; 3. Prithvi Dhillon (Chandigarh, 13 & 13) 26.
  • Junior SX 1: 1. Yuvaraj Kondedeshmukh (Ajmera Racing); 2. Sarthak Chavan (Pune); 3. Prajwal (Bengaluru).
  • Junior SX 2: 1. Shlok Ghorpade (Satara); 2. Jinendra Sangave Ichalkaranji); 3. Ikshan Shanbhag (Satara).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :