Subir Roy triumphs in Dakshin Dare’s TSD category

In the last day of the rally, Subir Roy along with co-driver Nirav Mehta finished first in the Endurance Car category.

The ninth edition of the Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare travelled through several scenic locales and was a great success.   -  P.K. AJITH KUMAR

Subir Roy, in the company of Nirav Mehta, drove to glory in the Endurance Car (TSD) category at the Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare that concluded here on Friday.

In the rally that opened in Bengaluru on Monday, Subir’s Maruti Swift ended its race with a total penalty of 00:12:20 to come first. Karthik Maruthi, along with co-driver Sankar S. Anand, came second, on a Maruti Swift Dzire (00:12:45).

Raghu Nandan, alongside M. Prakash, who drove a Maruti S-Cross, took the third place (00:12.49).

The prizes in various categories were distributed at the closing ceremony here on Saturday. It certainly was a memorable rally that covered over 2000 km, mostly through the scenic landscapes of Karnataka and Maharashtra.

The ninth edition of the Dakshin Dare was a success no doubt, much to the delight of the organiser Maruti Suzuki. The company’s vice president (marketing) Tarun Garg said the event grew considerably over the past nine years.

“It has been able to gain a strong foothold within the motorsports community in south India,” Mr. Garg said. “The increasing number of participation from across the country and the longest rally route testify that. We add different locations to the rally each year.”

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :