Vishnu Prasad scorches the track

Defending champion Anindith Reddy looked like edging past Vishnu on a couple of occasions. But Vishnu managed it all.

The second race winners of the Euro JK class in the second round of the JK Tyre National racing championship at the Kari Motor Speedway circuit.   -  Special Arrangement

A mixed weekend did not matter for Chennai’s Vishnu Prasad as he managed to stay in the lead in the prestigious Euro JK 17 after the second round of the JK Tyre FMSCI National racing championship here on Sunday.

Vishnu, who was on a roll in the opening round at the same venue, had a very disappointing outing on Saturday. But today, he underlined his mastery with a brilliant show in front of a packed house.

The most experienced of the drivers, Vishnu made the best use of starting on pole to stay ahead of the pack. But defending champion Anindith Reddy and Mumbai’s Nayan Chatterjee were right behind him.

In fact, the former looked like edging past him on a couple of occasions. But Vishnu managed it all.

“I got off to a good start and thought I had get past Vishnu too. But he defended really well,” said Anindith.

“It was a tough race and I had to be at my best to ward off Anindith,” Vishnu said.

The second race of the day was won by Australia's Ricky Capo. The LGB Formula 4 had its own twists and turns. The first race winner Chittesh Mandody was pushed to the 15th place as he was awarded a 30-second penalty for an infringement.

And that saw Chennai's Sandeep Kumar finish on top.

The second race also saw the result sheet going topsy turvy, with two drivers, including winner T.S. Diljith, of Dark Don Racing team, disqualified for not complying with homologation.

The results: Euro JK 17: Race 1: 1. Vishnu Prasad 15:50.536; 2. Anindith Reddy 15:51.400; 3. Nayan Chatterjee 15:51.890.

Race 2: 1. Ricky Capo 15:44.064; 2. Anindith Reddy 15:44.434; 3. Vishnu Prasad 15:46.428.

LGB F-4: Race 1: 1. Sandeep Kumar 19:44.333; 2. Vishnu Prasad 19:44.95; 3. Raghul Rangasamy 19:48.770.

Race 2: 1. Vishnu Prasad; 2. Raghul Rangasamy; 3. Kevin Perera.

Suzuki Gixxer Cup: 1. Joseph Matthew 10:10.863; 2. Malsawmdawngliana 10:13.064; 3. Sanjeev Mhatre 10:15.725.

Red Bull Rookie Cup: 1. Jaden Gunawardena 11:41.707; 2. Lalhruaizela 11:44.708; 3. S. Varoon 11:45.708.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :