Abul Hossain wins Kolkata Marathon

Hossain won the Kolkata Marathon with a timing of two hours 34 minutes and two seconds to leave Kolkata lad Biswanath Pal second, five minutes behind.

Congratulating the participants, Indian cricket icon Sachin Tendulkar, flagged off the races.   -  PTI

Abdul Hossain of Siliguri crossed the finish line in two hours, 34 minutes and two seconds to win the inaugural IDBI Federal Life Insurance Kolkata Marathon here on Sunday.

Biswnath Pal, who was five minutes slower than Abdul, took the second place, while Paritosh Roy (2:52:48) ended up at the third spot in the race, which began at 5 a.m.

In half-marathon, Subhankar Ghosh (1:09:07) and Mangali Tamang (1:31:13) emerged as the winners among men and women respectively.

In a close finish, Pramod Kumar (32.38) beat Shynsharlang Wahlang by 0.01 second to claim the 10,000m men's crown. Puja Mandal (38:59) recorded a comfortable victory for the women's title.

Cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar, who was the face of the event, was a major attraction at the Kolkata Marathon in which more than 8,000 runners took part in different races.

Congratulating the participants, Tendulkar said, “It’s been a successful event. I really applaud their effort, discipline and commitment.

"There were many women, it’s nice to see them compete hard and better their performances. It was quite chilly so not easy to come here so early in the morning but you were all charged up and thousands turned up to make this a success.

“The idea is to encourage people to run and lead good life. It’s about becoming fitter and healthier to have a positive impact on your lifestyle. It’s about spreading the message across. I’m looking forward to next year,” Tendulkar said.

The results:

Full Marathon: 1. Abul Hossain (2:34.02); 2. Biswanath Pal (2:39.16); 3. Paritosh Roy (2:52.48).

Half Marathon (Men): 1. Shubhankar Ghosh (1:09.07); 2. Jomsing Star Ramsiej (1:11.03); 3. Uttam Bhujel (1:13.23).

Half Marathon (Women): 1. Mangali Tamang (1:31.13); 2. Kyntimon Marwein (1:33.04); 3. Dateibankynmaw Marwein (1:35.48).

10K Men: 1. Pramod Kumar (32.38); 2. Shynsharlang Wahlang (32.39); 3. Manas Das (34.23).

10K Women: 1. Puja Mandal (38.59); 2. Phyrnai Kyndait (44.42); 3. Pakahi Kyndait (44.44).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :