Indian sports news wrap, May 16

Catch the major updates and results from Indian sports on May 16.

Published : May 16, 2023 16:22 IST , CHENNAI - 7 MINS READ

FILE PHOTO: Vaidehi Chaudhari.
FILE PHOTO: Vaidehi Chaudhari. | Photo Credit: KAMESH SRINIVASAN

FILE PHOTO: Vaidehi Chaudhari. | Photo Credit: KAMESH SRINIVASAN


Vaidehi reaches second round at ITF event in Korea

Vaidehi Chaudhari knocked out second seed Kyoka Nakamura of Japan 6-1, 6-1 in the first round of the $25,000 ITF women’s tennis tournament in Incheon, Korea, on Tuesday.

€200,000 Challenger, Bordeaux, France
Doubles (pre-quarterfinals): Francisco Cabral (Por) & Rafael Matos (Bra) bt Yuki Bhambri & Saketh Myneni 6-4, 7-6(3).
$15,000 ITF men, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Singles (first round): Parth Aggarwal bt Akram El Sallaly (Egy) 6-2, 6-3;
Doubles (pre-quarterfinals): Ishaque Eqbal & Karan Singh bt Teame Gebresilase & Abdella Mohammed (Eth) 6-4, 6-2; Dylan Salton (RSA) & Mattias Southcombe (GBR) bt Parth Aggarwal & Tushar Madan 7-6(5), 6-4; Rishab Agarwal & Ryotaro Matsumura (Jpn) bt Alex Beckley (RSA) & Parick Toman (USA) 6-7(4), 6-3, [11-9]; SD Prajwal Dev & Nitin Kumar Ssinha bt Leonardo Catani (Ita) & Samir Reguig (Alg) 6-3, 6-4; Yash Chaurasia & Jagmeet Singh bt Guy Iradukunda (Bdi) & Dev Javia 5-7, 7-5, [10-8]; Jonathan Baron & Ben Weintraub (Isr) bt Joe Cooper (GBR) & Digvijay Pratap Singh 6-3, 7-6(4); Chirag Duhan & Sina Moghimi (Iri) bt Guelfo Baldovinetti (Ita) & Yabets Kebede (Eth) 7-5, 6-1.
$25,000 ITF women, Incheon, Korea
Singles (first round): Vaidehi Chaudhari bt Kyoka Okamura (Jpn) 6-1, 6-1.
$25,000 ITF women, Kachreti, Georgia
Singles (first round): Eva Maria Ionescu (Rou) bt Ashmitha Easwaramurthi 7-5, 6-3; Zeel Desai bt Saumya Vig 6-2, 6-0;
Doubles (pre-quarterfinals): Polina Bakhmutkina & Hanna Vinahradava bt Ashmitha Easwaramurthi & Edda Mamedova 6-3, 6-3;

-Team Sportstar


Payas, Ankur enter main draw with convincing wins

Itanagar: Top seed Payas Jain made short work of his opponents, Tandin Tshering from Bhutan and Baniya Bishwo from Nepal, to take the top spot in Group 1 and enter the main draw of the U-19 Boys singles in the South Asian Youth Table Tennis Championship here on Tuesday.

Following his footsteps and into the second stage of the singles event was Ankur Bhattacharjee, the second Indian in the fray. He also registered 3-0 triumphs over Sujau Mohamed Thabin of Maldvies and Gesandu Peiris of Sri Lanka in Group 2.

From Group 3, Ridoy Mohutasin Ahmed from Bangladesh had cosy outings against Utam Kafley of Bhutan and Batagoda Gamage of Sri Lanka, beating his rivals 3-0 and 3-1, respectively.

Bawam Ramhim Lian from Bangladesh topped Group 4, beating Khalid Akhyar Ahmed of Maldives 3-2 and followed up with a 3-0 victory over Sujan Gadal of Nepal.

Nepal’s Baniya Bishwo, Gesandu Peiris and Batagoda Gamage of Sri Lanka as well as Khalid Akhyar Ahmed of Maldives from the four groups grabbed the second slots to qualify for the knockout stage, beginning on Wednesday.

In the Under-19 Girls, India’s Yashashwini Ghorpade and Suhana Saini topped Groups 1 and 2, while Fathimath Dheema Ali from Maldives led Group 3 to enter the second-stage draw.

Two girls from Sri Lanka, Lesanya Sethumdee Kulappuwawadu and Diwya Dharani Gamage, and Nepal’s Evana Thapa Magar followed the leaders into the knockout matches. They will play their knockout matches on the concluding day of the championships.

Results (First Stage):

U-19 Boys Singles: Group 1: Payas Jain (Ind) bt Bania Bishow (Nep) 11-4, 11-3, 11-8, bt Tandin Tshering (Bhu) 11-4, 11-4, 11-4; Baniya Bishow (Nep) bt Tandin Tshering (Bhu) 11-7, 11-1, 11-8.

Group 2: Ankur Bhattacharjee (Ind) bt Gesandu Peiris (Sri) 11-2, 11-3, 11-3, bt Sujau Thabin (Mdv) 11-4, 11-6, 11-8; Gesandu Peiris (Sri) bt Sujau Thabin 11-9, 9-11, 11-9, 11-7.

Group 3: Ridoy Mohutasin (Ban) bt Batagoda Gamage (Sri) 11-4, 10-12, 11-9, 14-12, bt Utam Kafley (Bhu) 11-1, 11-1, 11-2.

Group 4: Bawm Ramhim (Ban) bt Sujan Gadal (Nep) 11-5, 11-8, 11-5, bt Akhyar Ahmed (Mdv) 11-8, 8-11, 11-6, 5-11, 11-7.

U-19 Girls Singles: Group 1: Yashaswini Ghorpade (Ind) bt Oishe Rohman (Ban) 11-1, 11-3, 11-8, bt Kulappuwawadu (Sri) 11-9, 11-6, 11-6; Kulappuwawadu (Sri) bt Oishe Rohman (Ban) 5-11, 12-10, 9-11, 11-4, 11-9.

Group 2: Suhana Saini (Ind) bt Biyanka Rai (Nep) 11-2, 11-3, 11-5, bt Mishka Mohamed (Mdv) 11-2, 11-8, 11-3, bt Divya Gamage (Sri) 11-4, 11-5, 11-5; Divya (Sri) bt Biyanka (Nep) 7-11, 11-9, 11-4, 11-8, bt Mishka (Mdv) 11-3, 13-11, 8-11, 11-3.

Group 3: Fathimath Ali (Mdv) bt Sai Khoy Marma (Ban) 11-5, 11-5, 11-1, bt Sonam Tamang (Bhu) 11-4, 14-12, 11-8, bt Evana Magar (Nep) 11-4, 11-5, 11-8; Sai Khoy (Ban) bt Sonam (Bhu) 11-8, 11-7, 11-5, bt Evana (Nep) 11-3, 13-11, 8-11, 11-3.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment