June 18, Indian sports news wrap: Kushagra Rawat fails to qualify for 400m freestyle finals at FINA World Championships

India's Kushagra Rawat was placed 33rd overall in the 400m freestyle heats at the FINA World Championships in Budapest on Saturday.

FILE PHOTO: Kushagra Rawat clocked 3:59.69s in the 400m freestyle heats at the FINA World Championships.   -  THE HINDU

Kushagra Rawat finishes 33rd in 400m freestyle heats, fails to qualify for finals

India's Kushagra Rawat was placed 33rd overall in the 400m freestyle heats at the FINA World Championships in Budapest on Saturday. Rawat finished with a timing of 3:59.69s and failed to qualify for the finals, with only the top eight placed swimmers making the cut.

READ | FINA World Championship 2022: All you need to know, Indians participating, schedule

Tvesa Malik makes the cut at Aramco Series London

A fighting Tvesa Malik recovered from a disastrous start to make the cut with a final hole birdie in the second round of the Aramco Team Series – London.

Tvesa seemed set for an early exit as she was six-over through her first seven holes but she refused to give up and eventually birdied the 18th hole for the second day running with a tense eight footer to make the cut on the line.

"We live to fight to another day," she said with a laugh. "I was so angry with myself, but I just did not want to give up. After being 6-over for first seven, three birdies on back nine against two bogeys meant I had a chance to squeeze in."

Tvesa missed at least three birdies inside eight feet, the distance she negotiated for her final crucial putt on 18th. With 78 in the second to follow up on her first round 74.

At six-over she was Tied-59th as 62 players made the cut.

The other Indian in the field, Diksha Dagar, missed out on weekend action with 78-80.

In the two-day team competition, Team Pelaez, of which Diksha was a part, finished Tied-sixth, while Team Tvesa Malik was tied 27th.

(With inputs from PTI)

Udayan Mane finishes Tied 42nd in Jakarta

Udayan Mane posted a final round of two-under 70 to sign off at T-42 in the Indo Masters Golf Invitational at Imperial Klub Golf in Jakarta on Saturday.

Mane had four birdies against two bogeys in a week that was patchy at times with rounds of 73-71-78-70.

It was the second event of the eight-event series in Indonesia on the Asian Development Tour.

(With inputs from PTI)

SHOOTING - Kumar Surendra Singh Championship

Esha Singh was in fine form as she beat a strong field to win the women’s 25-metre sports pistol gold in the 20th Kumar Surendra Singh shooting championship at the Madhya Pradesh Academy in Bhopal on Saturday.

Esha Singh, the women's sports pistol champion in the Kumar Surendra Singh Shooting championship in Bhopal on Saturday. - SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT


After qualifying at the top with 585, two points better than the eventual junior champion Manu Bhaker, the 17-year-old Esha beat Vibhuti Bhatia 30-23 for the gold.

Former World No.1 and World Cup gold medallist Chinki Yadav bagged the bronze ahead of Neeraj Kaur, multiple World Cup gold medallist Rahi Sarnobat, Abhidnya Patil, Manu  and Anisa Sayyed.

Manu Bhaker was irrepressible in the junior women medal round and beat Payal 32-23 for the gold. Junior World Champion Naamya Kapoor won the bronze ahead of Vibhuti Bhatia, Tejaswani and Divanshi.

In the 50-metre free pistol, Arjun Das won the men's gold with a score of 562. Omkar Singh and Ravinder Singh took the silver and bronze, respectively, ahead of Arjun Singh Cheema and Saurabh Chaudhary.

Saurabh, with a score of 554, was not at his best, but managed to clinch the junior gold, comfortably ahead of Harsh Gupta and Naved Chaudhary.

The results

25m sports pistol

Women: 1. Esha Singh 30 (14) 585; 2. Vibhuti Bhatia 23 (14) 574; 3. Chinki Yadav 17 (13) 577; 4. Neeraj Kaur 8 (11) 576.

Juniors: 1. Manu Bhaker 32 (12) 583; 2. Payal 23 (9) 565; 3. Naamya Kapoor 16 (10) 567; 4. Vibhuti Bhatia 7 (10) 574.

50m free pistol

Men: 1. Arjun Das 562; 2. Omkar Singh 559; 3. Ravinder Singh 556.

Juniors: 1. Saurabh Chaudhary 554; 2. Harsh Gupta 542; 3. Naved Chaudhary 540.

- Kamesh Srinivasan


83rd National Junior Table Tennis C'Ships: Top seeded Suhana advances to second round

Top-Seeded Suhana Saini (Haryana) advanced into the second round in the youth girls under-19 section after warding off a spirited challenge from Srijitha Shaw (Bengal) 11-8, 11-7, 11-4 in the 83rd National Junior and Youth Table Tennis Championships at the YMCA TT Arena here on Saturday.

After packing off Sampriti Roy 11-8, 11-3, 11-4 in less than 20 minutes in the first round in the under-17 category, Suhana was not at her best when she took on Srijitha in the first round in the under-19 category.

Suhana made quite a few errors and allowed her opponent to level the scores in all three sets. However, the Haryana girl found her nick at the right time to pull ahead to register a straight-sets win. 

Srijitha managed to level the scores at eight in the first set but Suhana reeled off four straight points to win the first set. In the second set, the Bengal girl again caught up with Suhana at seven but failed to stop the top seed from winning it. Suhana struck form after an indifferent start in the third set and won seven consecutive points to win the match.

There was hardly any surprise in the opening round in both categories as the seeds easily packed off qualifiers to warm up for a tougher grind. 

Results (first round)

Under-17: Suhana Saini (Har) bt Sampriti Roy (Ben) 11-8, 11-3, 11-4; Tanisha Kotecha (Mah) bt Maulisha Thanvi (Raj 11-4, 11-3, 11-3; Lakshita Narang (Del) bt Aarti Chaudhary (UP) 11-8, 11-7, 11-9; Jennifer Varghese (Mah) bt Kavya Yadav (Har) 11-7, 11-8, 11-2; Pritha Vartikar (Mah) bt Ekantika Sathish (TNTTA) 11-5, 10-12, 11-3, 11-0; Risha Mirchandani (Mah) bt Preeti Rajkumara (TTTA) 11-9, 11-6, 8-11, 13-11; Riddhima Kapoor (Del) bt Arya Songadkar (Mah) 11-6, 4-11, 7-11, 11-6, 11-8; Kavyashree Baskara (TTTA) bt Smrithi Krishna (Ker) 11-7, 11-4, 11-6.

Under-19: Suhana Saini (Har) bt Srijitha Shaw (Ben) 11-8, 11-7, 11-4; Tisha Kohli (Del) bt Thanuja (TTTA) 11-8, 11-8, 11-9; Prita Vartikar (Mah) bt Anushka Acharya (Raj) 11-2, 11-2, 11-0; Shriya Anand (TTTA) bt Anushka Basak (Ben) 11-5, 11-6, 11-5; Lakshita Narang (Del) bt Urvi Surlakar (Goa) 11-5, 11-4, 11-5; Swapnali Narale (Mah) bt Ananya Chande (Mah) 11-7, 9-11, 11-4, 11-6; Risha Mirchandani (Mah) bt K. Dishha (UP) 11-5, 11-5, 11-3.

-Praveen Chandran


 Asian cycling championship: India Women's team beats Uzbekistan for bronze

The Indian women’s team of Rejiye Devi, Chayanika Gogoi, Meenakshi and Monika Jat beat Uzbekistan with a time of 4 minutes 44.699 seconds to win the bronze medal in the 4-kilometre team pursuit in the Asian cycling championship at the Indira Gandhi Velodrome on Saturday.

It was the first medal at this level after 17 years for India. Korea and Kazakhstan teams won the gold and silver respectively.

India had a silver medal in the junior women’s 4-kilometre event through Pooja Dhanole, Himanshi Singh, Reet Kapoor and Jasmeek Kaur, as they clocked 4:54.094 to beat Korea.

Trishya Paul, Shushikala Agashe and Mayuri Lute won the women’s sprint event with a time of 50.438 seconds.

The Indian squad bagged a silver and six bronze medals in all to be fifth on the medals table behind, Korea, Japan, Kazakhstan and Malaysia.

There was more cheer for the host, as Jyoti Gaderaya clocked 58.283 seconds in beating compatriot Geeta Rao for the gold in the para women’s C1-C5 500-metre time trial.

India was leading the para events with a gold, a silver and a bronze, along with Thailand, and ahead of Iran and Japan.

-Kamesh Srinivasan

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :