Khelo India: Govind Krishna upsets top seed to reach quarterfinals

Uttar Pradesh swept the first five positions, but the bronze medal went to the sixth-placed Tushar Kalyan of Delhi, as Raj Yadav (65.40), Vaibhav Chaurasia (64.60) and Mohammed Rafey (63.85) with better scores had to be kept away from the podium.

Govind Krishna (above) upset the top seed in badminton in the Khelo India School Games on Tuesday.   -  Special Arrangement

It was a dominant fare from Uttar Pradesh in boys all-round gymnastics, but the rules allowed only two medals, as Mohammed Anas and his schoolmate Ankur Sharma bagged the gold and silver in the Khelo India School Games on Tuesday.

Uttar Pradesh swept the first five positions, but the bronze medal went to the sixth-placed Tushar Kalyan of Delhi, as Raj Yadav (65.40), Vaibhav Chaurasia (64.60) and Mohammed Rafey (63.85) with better scores had to be kept away from the podium.

ALSO READ: Rathore: Idea is to make Khelo India aspirational for youngsters

Mohammed Anas had a fine performance as he collected 12.50 in the floor exercise, 11.20 on the pommel horse, 10.35 on the roman rings, 13.05 on the vault, 8.50 on the parallel bars and 10.90 on the horizontal bar, for a total of 66.50 points.

In weightlifting, World youth championship silver medallist Jeremy Lalrinnunga had a total lift of 251 kilograms to beat Jacob Vanlaltluanga of Maharashtra by four kilograms, in the 62 kg category. Both the Mizoram boys, who grew up in Aizawl, were representing Maharashtra as they were based in the Army Sports Institute in Pune.

ALSO READ: Khelo India to have separate women’s championship in future

‘’I wanted to lift more because I was testing myself’’, said Jeremy who failed in his last attempt of 140 kg in clean and jerk.

In the girls 53 kg section, Lamabam Nilam Devi of Manipur beat the Commonwealth youth gold medallist Ananya Patil by ten kilograms.

Priya of Haryana who won the judo girl in the 40 kg category in the Khelo India School Games in Delhi on Tuesday.   -  Special Arrangement


In judo, Priya of Haryana won the 40 kg gold and the team won the boys 50 kg gold as well through Harish. Manipur, Maharashtra, Delhi and Gujarat won the other four gold medals of the day int he boys and girls sections.

In badminton, Govind Krishna of Kerala upset the top-seeded Dhruv Rawat of Uttarakhand in straight games to make the quarterfinals but was beaten by Koya Sai Charan of Telangana in that round.

ALSO READ: Ormila Devi wins gold at Khelo India Games

In boxing, Ekta Saroj of Punjab, the gold medallist in the Seven Nations Cup in Serbia early this year, made the girls 46 kg semifinals, with a 3-2 victory over Bharti of Haryana. She was joined in the semifinals by Rajni of Haryana, Sanjana of Delhi and Simran of Chandigarh.

The results:


Boys all-round: 1. Mohammed Anas (UP) 66.50; 2. Ankur Sharma (UP) 65.90; 3. Tushar Kalyan (Del) 62.85.


Boys: 50 kg: 1. Harish (Har), 2. Haobijam Keshorjit Singh (Man), 3. Lovepreet (Pun) & Aryan Drall (Del).

55 kg: 1. Krishna Kumar (Del), 2. Harsh Dalal (Del), 3. Vivek Yadav (UP) & Nitish Kumar (Har).

60 kg: 1. Mayank Kadian (Guj), 2. Ishann Kanojia (Mah), 3. Ajay Kumar (MP) & Zishan Ali (UP).

Girls: 40 kg: 1. Priya (Har), 2. Asmita Dey (Tri), 3. Rhini Mohite (Mah) & Kamini Yadav (Chd).

44 kg: 1. Thangjam Taba (Man), 2. Moirangthem (Man), 3. A Anumol (Ker) & Shaina Sailesh De (Mah).

48 kg: 1. Snehal Khavare (Mah), 2. Ashwini Vaijhanath Solanke (Mah), 3. Zonunsangi (Miz) & Ganga (Raj).


Boys: 62kg: 1. Jeremy Lalrinnunga (Mah) 115 kg, 136 kg; 251 kg); 2. Jacob Vanlaltluanga (Mah) (111, 136; 247); 3. Abhishek Nipane (Mah) (100, 122; 222).

Girls: 53 kg: 1. Lamabam Nilam Devi (Man) (69, 90; 159); 2. Ananya Patil (Mah) (69, 80; 149); 3. Dhanashri Pawar (Mah) (66, 81; 147).


Boys (quarterfinals): Koya Sai Charan bt Govind Krishna 21-12, 21-13; Aakash Yadav (UP) bt Laa Takum (Aru) 21-15, 21-15; Maisnam Meirba (Man) bt K. Sathish Kumar (TN) 21-14, 21-8.

Pre-quarterfinals: Govind Krishna (Ker) bt Dhruv Rawat (UK) 21-18, 21-15; Koya Sai Charan (Tel) bt Anush Rav Garg (Har) 21-11, 21-15; Laa Takum (Aru) bt R Vikas Prabhu (TN) 21-9, 24-22; Aakash Yadav (UP) bt Ranjan Yadav (UP) 19-21, 21-12, 21-8; K. Sathish Kumar (TN) bt R. Pranay (AP) 15-21, 21-8, 21-11; Maisnam Meiraba (Man) bt Tejas Kallokar (Kar) 21-14, 21-12; Rohan Gurbani (Mah) bt Jayant Rana (Har) 21-13, 21-17; Amit Rathore (MP) bt Arjun Rehani (Del) 23-21, 22-20.

Girls (quarterfinals): Malvika Bansod (Mah) bt Mansi Singh 21-14, 22-20; Unnati Bisht (UK) bt Trishna Hegde (Kar) 21-14, 21-13; Amolika Singh (UP) bt Alfiya Basari (Kar) 21-15, 21-17; aakarshi Kashyap (Chg) bt Aashi Rawat (UP) 21-13, 24-22.

Pre-quarterfinals: Malvika Bansod (Mah) bt Varsha Venkatesh (Ker) 21-8, 21-11; Mansi Singh (UP) bt NIkita (Har) 21-16, 17-21, 21-11; Unnati Bisht (UK) bt Debahuti Lahon (Asm) 21-10, 21-8; Trisha Hegde (Kar) bt Tanishka Deshpande (Mah) 21-16, 21-18; Amolika Singh (UP) bt Prerna Alvekar (Mah) 21-17, 21-19; Alfiya Basari (Kar) bt Anushka (Raj) 21-19 21-19; Aashi Rawat (UP) bt T. Kaviarasi (TN) 21-7, 21-18; Aakarshi Kashyap (Chg) bt K. Vennalsairi (AP) 21-6, 21-15.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :