Khelo India Youth Games: Women weightlifters increase Maharashtra's gold medal tally

Maharashtra has a tally of 177 medals, 64 of which are gold. Delhi and Haryana are second and third with tallies of 121 and 110 medals overall.

Maharashtra's Snehal Bhongale, who emerged as the clear winner by lifting 68 in snatch and 92 in clean and jerk (a total of 160kgs).   -  SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

Weightlifters lend their might in increasing Maharashtra’s gold medal tally, as Ashwini Malage and Snehal Bhongale proved superior to the field in girls U-21 87kgs+ and 87kgs categories respectively. Punjab’s Tejpal Singh Sandhu (boys U-21 109kgs) and Tamil Nadu’s B. Mukesh (boys U-21 109+) were crowned champions at the Khelo India Youth Games 2019.

Ashwini lifted 184 kgs (snatch 80kgs, clean and jerk 104kgs) to emerge on top, followed by Bhavishya (Karnata) and Anamaya M. T. (Kerala) to win silver and bronze medals. Snehal finished as a clear winner, ahead of UP's Shivangi singh and Amrutha Jayan (Kerala). The champion lifted 68 in snatch and 92 in clean and jerk, total lift 160kgs.

Tejpal’s total lift of 305 kgs (145, 160) and Mukesh’s aggregate effort of 261 kgs (110, 151) lifted these two lifters clear of the competition. Maharashtra emerged as the champion in both Under-17 and under-21 sections.


Kerala spikers booked semifinal berths in boys U-17 and U-21 volleyball competition, edging out Rajasthan 3-2 and smashing Maharashtra 3-0 respectively in league matches. The U-17 boys howled in delight after quelling Rajasthan fightback 25-22, 22-25, 22-25, 25-22, 15-13, claiming the second back-to-back wins over five sets in two days. T

The match could have gone either way, before Kerala’s spikers regathered themselves. The U-21 squad was in control against the host state, winning 27-25, 25-23, 25-19.


Odisha asserted supremacy in boys U-21 cateogry in hockey, winning 4-2 via the penalty shootout against Haryana at the MHAL stadium. Punjab claimed the bronze, getting past Uttar Pradesh also in the shootout by a 3-1 margin (1-1 full-time).

Odisha led 2-0 with goals from Dipsan Tirkey, Ashis Topno but Haryana hit back through a brace from skipper Mandeep Mor, stretching the gold medal clash into the penalty shootout.Ashis Topno, Gregory Xess, Shilanand Lakra and Dipsan Tirkey converted for the former, while Kuldeep and Yashdeep Siwach found the mark for Haryana.


For more updates, follow Sportstar on :