National beach volleyball: Subraja, Shalini shine for TN

Railways beat Goa-1 21-18, 21-11 in the final to emerge the men's champion; Tamil Nadu-1 beat Tamil Nadu-2 in the women’s event.

S. Shaalini (left) and R. Subraja with the National beach volleyball championship trophy at Besant Nagar in Chennai on Wednesday.   -  Jothi Ramalingam


Railways beat Goa-1 21-18, 21-11 in the final to emerge the men's champion of the 18th senior National beach volleyball championship at the Besant Nagar beach here on Wednesday.

Tamil Nadu-1 beat Tamil Nadu-2 21-14, 21-15 to emerge the women's champion.

Railways’ K. Rajesh and Krishna Chaitanya coordinated, anticipated, and set up better than Goa's Ramadhawaskar and Aaron Pereira.

Rajesh was especially good at the net. A powerful spike, a bullish block, and a deceptive spike helped Railways go 5-2 up from 2-2 in the first set.

Beach volley ball: TN-1, TN-2, TN-3 women progress, AP-1 men loses

Krishna, on the other hand, was good with the dig. His remarkable dive and retrieve in the rally helped them move 12-6 up in the first set.

Tamil Nadu-1’s R. Subraja and S. Shalini had better coordination as well. They have played together for around five years now. This is the pair’s first senior National championship and a title-winning one.

The duo said the final was the toughest of all matches they played in the event. Tamil Nadu-2’s P. Yogeshwari & G. Jenifer were the defending champions going into the final.

The results (finals): Men: Railways (K. Rajesh & Krishna Chaitanya) bt Goa-1 (Ramadhawaskar & Aaron Pereira) 21-18, 21-11; Women: Tamil Nadu-1 (R. Subraja & S. Shalini) bt Tamil Nadu-2 (P. Yogeshwari & G. Jenifer) 21-14, 21-15

Semifinals: Men: Goa-1 bt Goa-3 21-11, 18-21, 15-10; Railways bt Tamil Nadu-2 21-18, 21-15; Women: Tamil Nadu-1 bt Tamil Nadu-3 21-4, 21-11; Tamil Nadu-2 bt Telangana-1 21-16, 21-13.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :