It was a golden double for 20-year-old Navneet Kaur of Punjab as she clinched the honours in the women’s single scull and also the double scull events in the 34th senior national rowing championship at Hussain Sagar Lake here on Thursday.

Navneet, a student of Punjab University and taking part in the single scull for the first time in the Nationals, clocked 8:26.83 to win a comfortable race and in the process thwarted the challenge of former Asian championship medallist Dittymol Varghese, who finished third behind Pooja of Chandigarh.

Later, Navneet and Harpreet Kaur won the gold in the women’s doubles scull event with a timing of 7:42.94.

“The single scull was a tough race but I enjoyed the competition here as I practised really hard to compete in it for the first time in the National and I am glad with the gold here,” said Navneet, the Kerala National Games silver medallist in double scull.

Memorable debut

For 21-year-old Santosh Kadale of National Water Sports Academy in Nashik, his maiden appearance in the single scull in the Senior nationals turned out to be memorable as he finished first with a timing of 7:39.34, with Sandeep Kumar (All India Police) and K. Tejeshwar Reddy (AP) finishing second and third respectively.

All India Police team of Lachhman Singh, Sushil Kumar, Robin Mangar and Rohit Kumar clinched the gold in the men’s coxless fours event.

The results: All finals: Women: Single scull: 1. Navneet Kaur (Pjb) 8:26.83, 2. Pooja (Chd) 8:34.66, 3. Dittymol Varghese (Ker) 8:40.39.

Pairs: 1. Sanjukta Dung Dung & Manjula Xess (Odi) 7:53.35, 2. Monalisa Mohanty & Mamta Jena (Chd) 8:05.12, 3. A. Aswany & Chippy Kurian (Ker) 8:19.70.

Double scull: 1. Harpreet Kaur & Navneet Kaur (Pjb) 7:42.94, 2. Rukmani Dangi & Sona Keer (MP) 7:46.58, 3. Ch. Priya Devi & L. Lakshmi Devi (Mnp) 7:46.97.

Coxless four: 1. Odisha (Kamala Lakra, Sanjukta Dung Dung, Pracila Baxla, Manjula Xess) 7:25.92, 2. Punjab (Mandeep Kaur, Beant Kaur, Monika, Avantika) 7:42.16, 3. Kerala (A. Aswamy, B. Sreelakshmi, M.T. Nimmy, Chippy Kurian) 7:52.25.

Men: Single scull: 1. Santosh Kadale (Maha) 7:39.34, 2. Sandeep Kumar (All India Police) 7:40.53, 3. K. Tejeswar Reddy (AP) 8:02.60.

Pairs: 1. Parveen & Anil Kumar (Har) 7:09.88, 2. Siddarth Sunil & Ram Saravana Raja (TN) 7:16.75, 3. Vishwajeet Sandhav & Bhanu Pratap Singh (Pjb) 7:05.66.

Lt wt double scull: 1. Manohar Lal & S. Immanuval David Singh (All India Police) 7:04.96, 2. Gurmeet Singh & Ranjeet Singh (Pjb) 7:05.66, 3. G. Vishnu Prasad & Arjun B. Panicker (Ker) 7:12.98.

Men’s coxless fours: 1. All India Police (Lachhman Singh, Sushil Kumar, Robin Mangar, Rohit Kumar) 6:37.21, 2. Telangana (M. Mahesh Reddy, Satish Erva, D. Sai Raju, T. Sunil) 6:39.09, 3. Kerala (R. Jithu, P.V. Adarsh, Paras, Narendra Kumar) 6:45.50.

Lt wt coxless fours: 1. All India Police (Dhamendra Choudhary, Nitesh Kumar Lall, Ravinderjit Singh, Jagsir Singh) 6:33.22, 2. Chandigarh (Gulshan Kumar, Gulshan, Tarsem Singh, Rajinder Singh) 6:33.55, 3. Madhya Pradesh (Vishwajeet Sandhav, Farukh Khan, Manas Sharma, Bhanu Pratap Singh) 6:37.23.

Under-12 double scull: 1. R. Jishnumon & A. Abhiraj (Ker) 7:03.14, 2. Jaspal Singh & Jaspreet Singh (Chandigarh) 7:06.59, 3. Kulwant Singh & Sukhvinder Singh (Pjb) 7:13.21.