Sportstar Aces, Day 3: Anand, Humpy, Sushil, Thakur honoured

India's hockey national team captains Manpreet Singh and Rani Rampal were named the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Decade for Team Sports.

Published : Apr 03, 2021 20:18 IST

Sushil Kumar, Viswanathan Anand, Koneru Humpy, Manpreet Singh and Rani Rampal were among the big winners of the 2021 Sportstar Aces Awards on Saturday.

“I am very happy that the jury has chosen me for this award,” said wrestler Sushil after winning the Sportsman of the Decade (Individual Olympic Sports). “I am honoured that you would continue to support me as I continue to serve my country.”

Malini Parthasarathy, Chairperson, The Hindu Publishing Group, presented the Sportsman of the Decade (Individual non-Olympic Sports) award to Anand, the five-time World champion in chess.

Each one significant

“I’m really delighted to win the Sportsman of the Decade award. For me, that includes two World Championships, the qualification [for the World Chess Championship] in 2014 and the World Rapid Championship in 2017. Each one of these was very significant for me, and emotionally draining,” Anand said.

READ: Sushil Kumar wins Sportstar Aces Olympic Sports Sportsman of the Decade

Humpy was adjudged the Sportswoman of the Decade in the same category.

India’s hockey National team captains Manpreet Singh and Rani Rampal were named the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Decade for Team Sports. “This award is for women’s hockey. I hope this award will encourage more and more girls to take up sports,” said Rampal.

Hero MotoCorp was named the decade’s Best Corporate for the Promotion of Sports. “Coming from such great icons [jury] from the field of sports, it’s a true vindication of all that we have been doing to nurture sports in the country.

“I would like to assure you all that Hero MotoCorp and I remain committed to making India a sporting powerhouse in the years to come,” said Pawan Munjal, Hero MotoCorp’s chairman, managing director and chief executive officer.

Sportstar also recognised the efforts of three Indian athletes who, as frontline workers, have been at the forefront of the fight against the COVID-19 pandemic. Malini Parthasarathy, while highlighting the role played by frontline workers, said: “This year, Sportstar also pays tribute to unsung heroes and heroines of this long-drawn fight to keep us and our homes safe during these deadly times.

“The idea was to salute these COVID warriors who, as sportsmen, are giants off the field.”

2007 T20 World Cup hero Joginder Sharma, former India kabbadi captain Ajay Thakur and Commonwealth Games gold medal-winning boxer Akhil Kumar were conferred with the Giant off the Field honour.

The third list of Sportstar Aces Awards winners

1. Sportswoman of the decade (Individual non-Olympic Sports) - Koneru Humpy

2. Sportsman of the decade (Individual non-Olympic Sports) - Viswanathan Anand

3. Best Corporate for Promotion of Sports - Hero Motocorp

4. Giants off the field (Covid Warriors) - Joginder Sharma, Ajay Thakur, Akhil Kumar

5. Sportswoman of the decade (Team Sports) - Rani Rampal

6. Sportsman of the decade (Team Sports) - Manpreet Singh

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment