TNSJA honours a legend and achievers

Tamil Nadu cricketer Dinesh Karthik and athlete G. Lakshmanan were named the ‘Players of the Year’.

India wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik was presented the player of the year award from the BCCI Chairman of selectors M.S.K. Prasad as Aadhav Arjuna, MD, Arise group stands alongside.   -  Special Arrangement

India's first chess International Master Manuel Aaron, and 1975 hockey Word cup winner V. J. Philips, were honoured with Lifetime Achievement awards at the Arise Steel-TNSJA (Tamil Nadu Sports Journalists’ Association) awards function, here on Sunday.

"I can proudly say that TNSJA is the only organisation to have properly recognised me for my achievement, that too, after 42 years," said Philips in his acceptance speech.  Tamil Nadu cricketer Dinesh Karthik and athlete G. Lakshmanan were named the ‘Players of the Year’.

"This is a big motivation. I believe I'm a hard-worker. I still have to improve a lot. My aim is to compete in the Olympics," said Lakshmanan. The Lifetime Achievement award for Journalists was awarded, posthumously to Nirmal Shekar, former sports editor of 'The Hindu', and to R. Mohan, resident editor of 'Deccan Chronicle'.

S. Loganathan, who coached Lakshmanan to the 5000m gold in the Asian athletic championships in July, was named the ‘Coach of the Year’. The Tamil Nadu limited overs cricket team which won the Vijay Hazare trophy was the ‘Team of the Year’.

S. Nandakumar (football) and S. Selena Deepthi (table tennis) were named ‘Young Achievers’. 

BCCI chairman of selectors M.S.K. Prasad graced the occasion, and the function was hosted by T.V. anchor Sumanth C. Raman. 

Arise Steel-TNSJA annual award winners: Players of the year: Dinesh Karthik (cricket); G. Lakshmanan (athletics); Award of excellence: P. Anitha (basketball); S. Arokia Rajiv (athletics); K. Jennitha Anto (chess); Hall of fame: V.J. Philips (hockey); Manuel Aaron (chess); R. Mohan (journalism); Nirmal Shekar (journalism); Young players of the year: S. Nanda Kumar (football); S. Selena Deepthi (table tennis); Team of the year: Tamil Nadu limited overs cricket team; Young team of the year: Tamil Nadu U-14 rugby team; Coach of the year: S. Loganathan (athletics).

Arise Steel-TNSJA scholarship winners (Rs. 30,000 each): R. Mohan Kumar (athletics); Sankar Muthusamy (badminton); P. Baladhaneswar (basketball); P. Jeevanantham (basketball); P. Iniyan (chess); K. Priyanka (chess); R. Adithi (football); B. Jothika (rowing); S. Shrikrishna (snooker); S. Yashini (table tennis); Preyesh Suresh Raj (table tennis); Dhakshineswar Suresh (tennis).



For more updates, follow Sportstar on :