Munich World Cup: Om Prakash finishes seventh

Om Prakash Mitharwal made the air pistol final with a score of 582.

Om Prakash Mitharval couldn't come up with a medal-winning performance in the final.   -  AFP

Om Prakash Mitharval made the air pistol final with 582 but finished seventh in the shooting World Cup in Munich on Friday.

Shazar Rizvi, who had won the gold and silver in the World Cups this season in Guadalajara and Changwon respectively, shot 579 and missed
the final by one point. The much accomplished Jitu Rai could muster 577 for the 28th spot in a field of 135 shooters.

In the MQS section, Abhishek Verma impressed with a total of 585.

Christian Reitz of Germany, the rapid fire expert who won the Olympic gold in Rio, was beaten to the air pistol gold by a world record 243.6
by Oleh Omelchuk of Ukraine.

In men’s rifle 3-position event,  Sanjeev Rajput shot 1176 and missed the final by two points.

Sanjeev had 393 in kneeling, 396 in prone and 387 in standing positions. In a high-scoring competition, the reigning World champion and Youth Olympics champion Yang Haoran of China won the gold with a world record 465.3 in the final. He beat the Rio Olympics silver medallist Sergey Kamenskiy of Russia by 1.9 point.

In women’s 25-metre sports pistol, World Cup gold medallist Rahi Sarnobat shot 577 and missed the final by five points. Heena Sidhu was one point behind and pushed to the 34th place among 94 shooters.

Competing only in their second World Cup, Xiong Yaxuan and Yao Yushi of China won the gold and silver respectively, ahead of the former
World and Olympic champion Olena Kostevych of Ukraine.

The results:

Men: 50m rifle 3-position: 1. Yang Haoran (Chn) 465.3 WR (1180); 2. Sergey Kamenskiy (Rus) 463.4 (1181); 3. Marco De Nicolo (Ita) 447.7
(1179); 16. Sanjeev Rajput 1176; 33. Swapnil Kusale 1171; 70 Akhil Sheoran 1160. MQS: Chain Singh 1167.

10m air pistol: 1. Oleh Omelchuk (Ukr) 243.6 WR (582); 2. Christian Reitz (Ger) 242.4 (586); 3. Pu Qifeng (Chn) 221.1 (582); 7. Om Prakash
Mitharval 136.9 (582); 12. Shazar Rizvi 579; 28. Jitu Rai 577.  MQS: Abhishek Verma 585; Tinjit Dhanota 570.

Women: 25m sports pistol: 1. Xiong Yaxuan (Chn) 31 (586); 2. Yao Yushi 29 (583); 3. Olena Kostevych (Ukr) 24 (588); 30. Rahi Sarnobat 577;
34. Heena Sidhu 576; 48. Annu Raj Singh 572.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :