National Shooting C’ships: Anjum continues her good run

The Punjab shooter pocketed the women’s 50m rifle 3-positions gold medal at a canter on Saturday.

Anjum Moudgil had won the mixed-pair gold medal on Friday.   -  K. Murali Kumar (File Photo)

Anjum Moudgil is in peak form and the one to beat. The Punjab shooter, just 20, gave further proof of her credentials as she pocketed the women’s 50m rifle 3-positions gold medal at a canter at the 61st National shooting championships at the National Games shooting range here on Saturday.

Having led the 98-shooter field in the preliminaries by a good six-point margin, Anjum won the final shootout with a huge five-point margin as she added the title for the event to the 50m rifle prone and the mixed pairs gold won in the company of Arjun Babuta on Friday. Further, Anjum took her gold haul to five as she also figured prominently in the title triumph of the team event just as she had led her home State side to the top position in prone.

Anjum was considerably ahead of her Indian team-mate Lajja Gauswami (Gujarat) as she topped the preliminary phase with a total of 586. Lajja had 580 while the other six shooters who made the final – Dilreen Gill (Punjab, 578), Shreya Saksena (Jammu & Kashmir, 578), Tejaswini R. Sawant (Maharashtra, 576), Aishwarya G. Malayil (Kerala, 577), Raj Choudhary (Army, 577) and Aditi Singh (Haryana, 574).

In the final again, the Punjab shooter was not to be stopped even as Aishwarya (396.7), Dilreen (397.6), Tejaswini (406.9), Aditi (420.8) and Lajja (430.5) were eliminated in that order and before the Army shooter was forced to settle for the bronze (439.5).

This left Anjum and Shreya in the final sequence and Anjum finished with a total of 457.6 as against 452.9 totalled by Shreya, in the second position.

In the team event, Anjum, Dilreen and Avneet K. Sidhu finished with a winning total of 1730 points ahead of Maharashtra (1714) and Kerala (1711).

In the junior section, Shreya, however, compensated her silver in the senior group with the gold medal, finishing with a final total of 444.9 points ahead of Bhakti Bhaskar Khamkar (Maharashtra, 440.7) and Shrishti Mishra (Madhya Pradesh, 426.0). Madhya Pradesh won the team title with a total of 1677 even as Maharashtra (1674) and Punjab (1662) took the silver and bronze respectively.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :