National selection trials: Saurabh Chaudhary, Rahi Sarnobat top the field

Qualifying in the seventh place with 580, Saurabh beat Sharvan Kumar by 1.5 point with a total of 245.4 in the final.

Saurabh Chaudhary overcame a rusty qualification round to win the final at the national selection trials on Friday.   -  Getty Images

Asian Games gold medallist, World junior and Youth Olympics champion, Saurabh Chaudhary literally came through a test of fire in asserting his class in men’s air pistol in the sixth National shooting selection trials at the Dr. Karni Singh Range, Tughlakabad, on Friday.

Qualifying in the seventh place with 580, three points behind the leaders Anmol Jain and Pankaj Kumar Sharma, Saurabh beat Sharvan Kumar by 1.5 point with a total of 245.4 in the final.

Amanpreet Singh who had also shot 580 in qualification, hauled himself up to the third place, ahead of Karnav Bishnoi, Sumit Raman and Gaurav Rana who had all shot better in qualification.

Sharvan Kumar, who shot 581 in qualification, went on to clinch the top spot among the juniors and the second spot among the youth behind Naveen.

In women’s 25-metre sports pistol, Rahi Sarnobat set the record straight by topping the seventh trials with a 39-35 victory over Annu Raj Singh. Rahi, who had been beaten by Annu Raj earlier, once again shot a high score of 586 in qualification after having shot 588 in the earlier trial.

Anjum Moudgil topped the women’s rifle prone event once again, with a score of 621.3.

The results:


10m air pistol: 1. Saurabh Chaudhary 245.4 (580); 2. Sharvan Kumar 243.9 (581); 3. Amanpreet Singh 219.4 (580).

Juniors: 1. Sharvan Kumar 246.3 (581); 2. Gaurav Rana 241.2 (581); 3. Mukesh Nelavalli 220.3 (579).

Youth: 1. Naveen 243.6 (579); 2. Sharvan Kumar 243.0 (581); 3. Adil Khan 218.8 (578).

50m rifle prone: 1. Tarun Yadav 624.0; 2. Chain Singh 622.0; 3. Kailash Chand 620.4.

Juniors: 1. Niraj Kumar 617.2; 2. Indranil Basak 616.2; 3. Gurman Singh 615.0.


25m sports pistol: 1. Rahi Sarnobat 39 (586); 2. Annu Raj Singh 35 (582); 3. Baljinder Kaur 29 (572).

Juniors: 1. Ishika Singh 29 (567); 2. Neha 29 (564); 3. Arunima Gaur 24 (563).

50m rifle prone:
1. Anjum Moudgil 621.3; 2. V Srinithi Abirami 618.8; 3. Kajal Saini 618.4.

Juniors: 1. Bhakti Bhaskar Khamkar 617.9; 2. Shirin Godara 617.3; 3. Kinnori Konar 615.0.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.