National Shotgun C’ship: Prithviraj Tondaiman stays in the lead

Prithviraj Tondaiman tallies 99 out of 100 after four rounds of men’s trap.

Eyes on target: Prithviraj Tondaiman continued his good run on Wednesday.   -  M. Srinath (File Photo)

Prithviraj Tondaiman sustained his good work and stayed in the lead with 99 out of 100 after four rounds of men’s trap in the 62nd National shotgun championship held at the JDA range on Wednesday.

Prithviraj, who dropped one bird in the third round, was followed by Zoravar Singh Sandhu and the Asian Games silver medallist Lakshay Sheoran on 96. Manavjit Singh Sandhu, the former world champion, Anirudh Singh, the former national champion and Ronald Kamlunlal Tungdim, tallied 95, one point ahead of Olympian Kynan Chenai, Saif Sheikh and Nagesh Anand.

Read: Anjum Moudgil finishes with four gold medals

One more round will be shot on Thursday, to decide the top-six from among 169 shooters for the final.

Lakshay Sheoran leads

In the junior event, Lakshay Sheoran led with 96, following four identical rounds of 24, one point ahead of Ronald Kamlunlal Tungdim. Bohowneesh Mendiratta and Aman Ali Elahi were on 92. They were followed by Manavaditya Singh Rathore (91), Ahvar Rizvi, Aakash Kushwaha and Vrishankaditya Parmar (90).

Shardul Vihan, the Asian Games silver medallist in double trap, was on 88, one point behind Vivaan Kapoor.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.