Junior World Cup: Sarabjot Singh bags gold in air pistol

Sarabjot Singh shot a gold in air pistol event to take India’s tally to nine in the Junior World Cup in Suhl, Germany.

File photo of Sarabjot Singh (left) in action at the Kumar Surendra Singh shooting championship in New Delhi.   -  Kamesh Srinivasan

Sarabjot Singh shot a gold in air pistol event to take India’s tally to nine in the Junior World Cup in Suhl, Germany, on Thursday.

After qualifying in the fifth place with 575, Sarabjot shot 239.6 in the final to beat Wang Zhehao of China 1.9 point. Sarabjot along with Gaurav Rana and Arjun Singh Cheema missed the bronze by one point.

In junior women’s air pistol, 14-year-old Esha Singh won the silver despite the 8s and 9s that dotted her final.

In the highly competitive women’s rifle 3-position event, in which the qualification cut off was 1172, Vanshika Shahi had the best performance of 1167 for the 16th place. Bhakti Bhaskar Khamkar (1157), Ayushi Podder (1154), Zenab Hussain Bandookwala (1150) had relatively better scores from among the other Indians in a field of 99 shooters.

In women’s skeet, Parinaaz Dhaliwal (109), Darshna Rathore (106), Asees Chhina (101), Mufaddal Zahra Deesawala (82) were placed 15th, 20th, 25th and 39th respectively among 40.

In men’s skeet, Ayush Rudraraju shot 110 for the 33rd place, while Gurnihal Singh Garcha (106) and Arjun Thakur (99) finished placed 42nd and 49th respectively.

The results:

Junior men:

10m air pistol: 1. Sarabjot Singh 239.6 (575); 2. Wang Zhehao (Chn) 237.7 (576); 3. Lu Shichang (Chn) 217.0 (574); 14. Gaurav Rana 571; 16. Udhayveer Singh 570; 20. Arjun Singh Cheema 568; 48. Anish Bhanwala 562; 67. Sachin Bhati 557.

Team: 1. China 1716; 2. Belarus 1716; 3. Germany 1715; 4. India (Sarabjot Singh, Gaurav Rana, Arjun Singh Cheema) 1714; 11. India-A (Udhayveer Sidhu, Anish Bhanwala, Sachin Bhati) 1689.

Junior women:

10m air pistol: 1. Sevval Ilayda Tarhan (Tur) 241.8 (568); 2. Esha Singh 236.6 (570); 3. Yasemin Beyza Yilmaz (Tur) 215.4 (570); 10. Priya Raghav 568; 31. Devanshi Rana 561; 37. Sneha Bhardwaj 559; 50. Vibhuti Bhatia 557; 83. Harshada Nithave 538.

Team: 1. Italy 1702; 2. Germany 1691; 3. Hungary 1687; 9. India-A (Devanshi Rana, Sneha Bhardwaj, Vibhuti Bhatia) 1677; 10. India (Esha Singh, Priya Raghav, Harshada Nithave) 1676.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :