Shooting World Cup: Apurvi Chandela takes fourth place

The 25-year-old paid the price for a freak bad shot that robbed her of a medal in the women’s air rifle.

File Photo: Apurvi Chandela was leading the pack in the final before her fatal stroke of 5.9.   -  Getty Images

A freak bad shot robbed Apurvi Chandela of a medal in women’s air rifle in the shooting World Cup in Munich on Thursday.

The 25-year-old Apurvi was leading comfortably ahead of the rest of the pack in the final, when a 5.9 on the 19th shot pulled her out of the race in the 24-shot final. Apurvi was leading by more than a point at that stage and had healthy shots of 10.5, 10.9 and 10.8 prior to the bad shot. She shot a 10.5 on the 20th but the damage had been done, and she settled for the fourth place.

Read: Golf, not fame, drives McIlroy

Apurvi, who had won the Commonwealth Games gold in Glasgow in 2014 and bronze this time in Gold Coast, had won the silver in the World Cup Final in Munich in 2015. Apurvi had shot very well in the qualification phase with 630.9 and made the cut in the fourth place in a strong field of 146 shooters. It was a healthy average, better than 10.5 every shot, out of 60 shots.

The two other Indian shooters, Anjum Moudgil (626.4) and Mehuli Ghosh (620.3) placed 25th and 86th respectively.

Indifferent outing for Sheoran

In the elimination stage of men’s rifle 3-position event, Sanjeev Rajput (1175) and Swapnil Kusale (1172) came up with good scores, while Akhil Sheoran who had won the World Cup gold recently, returned a modest score of 1161.

The qualification stage of the competition will be held on Friday, followed by the final for the top eight.

In women’s 25-metre sports pistol, Heena Sidhu shot 290 out of 300 in the precision stage, six point behind the leader. Annu Raj Singh (287) and Rahi Sarnobat (282) followed her at a distance in a field of 94 shooters. The ‘duelling’ stage will be held on Friday, followed by the final.

The results
  • Women
  • 10m air rifle: Ying-Shin Lin (Tpe) 250.3 (630.3); 2. Wu Mingyang (Chn) 249.8 (631.1); 3. Rikke Maeng Ibsen (Den) 229.0 (631.3); 4. Apurvi Chandela 205.4 (630.9); 25. Anjum Moudgil 626.4; 86. Mehuli Ghosh 620.3.
  • MQS: Shriyanka Sadangi 622.4; Ayonika Paul 621.8.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :