Shooting World Cup: Heena, Harveen shoot 383

In the women’s air pistol event, India’s Heena Sidhu and Harveen Srao fell short of the final by one point.

Heena Sidhu shot a series of 98, 94, 97 and 94.   -  Shiv Kumar Pushpakar (File Photo)

Heena Sidhu and Harveen Srao shot an identical and impressive score of 383 but fell short of the final by one point in women’s air pistol in the shooting World Cup in Gabala, Azerbaijan, on Sunday.

The former World Cup Final champion and world record holder, Heena shot a series of 98, 94, 97 and 94, while Harveen had a series of 96, 93, 95 and 97. Sylvia Steiner of Austria won the gold after topping the qualification phase with a score of 389.

It was a more agonising experience for Sanjeev Rajput than the Indian woman pistol shooters, as he missed the men’s 50-metre rifle prone final by 0.3 point, after shooting a score of 625.0. His good work was undone by the last card in a series of 106.9, 103.5, 104.6, 103.8, 103.6 and 102.6.

Gagan Narang was positioned 25th with a total of 622.0. Torben Grimmel of Denmark won the gold by equalling the world record of 249.8 after having topped qualification with 630.2.

In men’s air pistol, the much accomplished Jitu Rai shot 576 and was positioned 12th, as he missed the final by two points in a low scoring contest. Jitu had a bad finish in a series of 97, 96, 97, 96, 96 and 92.

Prakash Nanjappa (575) and Omkar Singh (574) followed in the 15th and 18th spots. The triple gold medallist of the 2010 Commonwealth Games, Omkar had a 100 on the fifth card but could not make the cut as he had a 93 last card.

Yang Wei of China, who qualified with a modest 578, clinched the gold, 2.2 points ahead of Tomoyuki Matsuda of Japan, while qualification topper Viktor Bankin of Ukraine placed fourth behind Oleh Omelchuk of Ukraine, the free pistol gold medallist.

The results


10m air pistol: 1. Yang Wei (Chn) 240.1 (578); 2. Tomoyuki Matsuda (Jpn) 237.9 (579); 3. Olex Omelchuk (Ukr) 217.1 (580); 12. Jitu Rai 576; 15. Prakash Nanjappa 575; 18. Omkar Singh 574.

50m rifle prone: 1. Torben Grimmel (Den) 249.8 EWR (630.2); 2. Yury Shcherbatsevich (Blr) 248.9 (626.3); 3. Lionel Cox (Bel) 227.9 (627.7); 11. Sanjeev Rajput 625.0; 25. Gagan Narang 622.0.


10m air pistol: 1. Sylvia Steiner (Aut) 237.5 (389); 2. Vitalina Batsarashkina (Rus) 236.1 (388); 3. Alejandra Zavala Vazquez (Mex) 216.7 (388); 9. Heena Sidhu 383; 10. Harveen Srao 383; 42. Harshada Nithave 373.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :