Tejaswini Sawant bags India’s 12th Olympic quota in shooting

Tejaswini Sawant earned the quota for Tokyo by finishing fifth in the qualifications with a score of 1171. This is India's 12th Olympic quota in shooting.

Provided she is picked in the final shooting squad for next year’s Tokyo Games, it will be Tejaswini's maiden Olympic appearance.   -  AFP

Former World champion Tejaswini Sawant won the Olympic quota in the women’s rifle 3-position event by qualifying for the final with an impressive score of 1171 in the Asian shooting championship on Saturday.

It was the 12th Olympic quota for Indian shooters for Tokyo 2020, and the third in the ongoing championship after Deepak Kumar (men’s rifle 3-position) and Chinki Yadav (women’s 25-metre sports pistol).

With two Chinese and two Koreans, apart from Mongolia’s Yesugen Oyunbat who had booked a berth to Tokyo in air rifle earlier, not in the race for quota, the three spots were taken by the finalists from Japan, India and Iran.

The 39-year-old Tejaswini finished fourth, narrowly missing a medal following a score of 8.8.

Angad shines

In men’s skeet, Asian champion Angad Vir Singh Bajwa was well placed with a total of 74 out of 75 after three rounds. He was a point behind Abdullah Alrashidi of Kuwait. Olympian Mairaj Ahmad Khan (73) and Smit Singh (72) were also among the top shooters, keeping themselves in the race for the final, with two rounds to go on Sunday.

Olympian Gurpreet Singh bagged the men’s standard pistol silver with 586, two points behind Han Daeyoon of Korea.

The juniors continued to excel, as Jasmeen Kaur and Aadhya Tayal claimed the youth women’s rifle and pistol gold medals.

India clinched nine medals on the fifth day of competition, taking its tally to 44.

The results:

Men: 25m centre fire pistol: 1. Han Daeyoon (Kor) 588; 2. Gurpreet Singh 586; 3. Kim Junhong (Kor) 586; 8. Yogesh Singh 574; 9. Adarsh Singh 570; Team: 1. China 1743; 2. Korea 1743; 3. India 1730.

Women: 50m rifle 3-position: 1. Shi Mengyao (Chn) 457.9 (1178); 2. Yesugen Oyunbat (Mgl) 457.0 (1169); 3. Shiori Hirata (Jpn) 445.9 (1169); 4. Tejaswini Sawant 435.8 (1171); 13. Kajal Saini 1167; 16. Gaayathri Nithyanandam 1165. MQS: Sunidhi Chauhan 1164; Team: 1. China 3520 AR; 2. Iran 3505; 3. India 3503.

Junior men: 25m sports pistol: 1. Nikita Chiryukin (Kaz) 587; 2. Cao Jiahao (Chn) 582; 3. Youn Jaeyeon (Kor) 581; 4. Dilshaan Kelley 580; 5. Rajkanwar Singh Sandhu 579; 9. Miteshkumar Gohil 571; Team: 1. Korea 1736; 2. India 1730; 3. China 1726.

Youth women: 10m air rifle: 1. Jasmeen Kaur 248.7 (624.3); 2. Nie Wenqi (Chn) 248.5 (629.0); 3. Kim Seonja (Kor) 226.4 (624.5); 6. Zeena Khitta 163.5 (623.9); 7. Nupoor Hagawane 143.5 (620.3); Team: 1. China 1881.1; 2. Korea 1869.3; 3. India 1868.5.

10m air pistol: Aadhya Tayal 238.9 (567); 2. Shikha Narwal 237.8 (567); 3. Gong Xinyuan (Chn) 216.9 (564); 8. Rhythm Sangwan 112.6 (562); Team: 1. India 1696; 2. China 1691; 3. Korea 1682.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.