Fadte starts campaign in style

Yash Fadte beat Niraj Kabra in straight games, Unseeded Raunak Advani secured a hard-fought win over Shaan Dalal.

Yash Fadte (right) dropped only eight points in the match. (file photo)   -  S. R. Raghunathan

Yash Fadte defeated Niraj Kabra 11-4, 11-2, 11-2 in a first-round match of the third Indian Classic Junior Open squash tournament at the Bombay Gymkhana courts on Saturday.

Organised under the aegis of Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) and Maharashtra Squash Rackets Association, the tournament saw 16-year-old Fadte playing in the U-19 category and reigning supreme over Kabra. Fadte defeated his opponent, dropping only eight points in the match.

Read: Syrian refugee girls pursue squash dreams in Hong Kong

In another match, Unseeded Raunak Advani earned a hard-fought victory against the higher-ranked Shaan Dalal. Advani started the match with an easy 11-6 victory in the first game but Dalal was quick to respond by clinching the second set 11-9.

Dalal failed to capitalise on the second game victory and succumbed to a mere 2-11 score against Advani in the third game. Raunak had a chance to seal the deal in the fourth game but unable to convert crucial points, saw him losing it 9-11. Raunak made fewer mistakes and won the final game 11-6 ultimately winning the match 11-6, 9-11, 11-2, 9-11, 11-6.


U-19 Boys: Sonu Kumar [17/32] bt Anmol Malik 11-4, 11-3, 12-10; Vedansh Kushwaha [9/16] bt Nikhil Sonavane 11-4, 11-3, 11-3; Akash Banodha [17/32] bt Sajid Khan 9-11, 11-1, 6-11, 11-6, 12-10; Araash Mehta [17/32] bt Dhruv Mendens 11-3, 11-2, 11-5; Shlok Makhija [17/32] bt Tilak Agarwal 11-4, 11-2, 11-2; Chaitanya Shah bt Shanay Sanghavi [17/32] 11-4, 11-6, 11-0; Yash Fadte bt Niraj Kabra [17/32] 11-2, 11-1, 11-1; Raunak Advani bt Shaan Dalal [17/32] 11-6, 9-11, 11-2, 9-11, 11-6; Ajay Singh Bhadoria bt Vedant Ambani [17/32] 2-11, 11-3, 11-5, 10-12, 11-6; Eashan Murali [17/32] bt Siddhanth Beri 12-10, 11-7, 11-8.

U-17 Boys: Laxman Sakharam Pokale bt Raghav Gupta 9-11, 11-4, 11-5, 11-4; Harshvardhan Kakar bt Vishnu Darvada 11-4, 11-5, 11-5; Sadashiv Shingawa bt Raghav Gupta 11-1, 11-2, 11-5.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :