Pant makes a mark

Rishabh Pant is now the youngest Test wicketkeeper to register a score of more than 150 and the first Asian to aggregate 350 or more runs and claim 20 or more dismissals in a single Test series, and more.

Rishabh Pant celebrates his century at Sydney.   -  AFP


Rishabh Pant’s age when he scored an unbeaten 159 at Sydney. At 21 years, 92 days, he is now the youngest wicketkeeper in Test history to register a score of more than 150.

Youngest wicketkeepers to make 150-plus scores in Tests

WicketkeeperAgeRunsCountryOpponentVenueMonth, yearResult
Rishabh Pant21 years, 92 days159*IndiaAustraliaSydneyJanuary 2019Drawn
Tatenda Taibu21 years, 248 days153ZimbabweBangladeshDhakaJanuary 2005Drawn
Clyde Walcott22 years, 298 days152West IndiesIndiaDelhiNovember 1948Drawn
Kamran Akmal23 years, 323 days154PakistanEnglandLahoreDecember 2005Won
Denesh Ramdin23 years, 353 days166West IndiesEnglandBridgetownMarch 2009Drawn

Note: Taibu was also the captain.


The number of wicketkeepers to aggregate 350 or more runs and also claim 20 or more dismissals in a single Test series. Rishabh Pant is now the latest to do so, becoming the first Asian to achieve this rare feat.

Wicketkeepers with 350-plus runs and 20-plus dismissals in a Test series

WicketkeeperRunsDismissals (catches + stumpings)CountryOpponentVenueYearMatches
Dennis Lindsay60624 (24 + 0)South AfricaAustraliaSouth Africa1966-675
Brad Haddin49322 (22 + 0)AustraliaEnglandAustralia2013-145
Alec Stewart46523 (23 + 0)EnglandSouth AfricaEngland19985
Alan Knott36423 (22 + 1)EnglandAustraliaAustralia1974-756
Jonny Bairstow35920 (19 + 1)EnglandSouth AfricaSouth Africa2015-164
Rishabh Pant35020 (20 + 0)IndiaAustraliaAustralia2018-194


The number of balls faced by Cheteshwar Pujara in the just-concluded series is now the most faced by an Indian batsman in a Test series against Australia.

Most balls faced in a Test series by an Indian batsman

Sunil Gavaskar1,3821546950062.501England in India1981-82
Rahul Dravid1,33622346602100.333England in England2002
Mohinder Amarnath1,30413061058473.003Pakistan in Pakistan1982-83
Cheteshwar Pujara1,2581804752174.423Australia in Australia2018-19
Sanjay Manjrekar1,2231754756994.832Pakistan in Pakistan1989-90
Rahul Dravid1,20315048619123.801Australia in Australia2003-04


The number of visiting sides that have the distinction of winning a Test series in Australia. India now becomes the first Asian team to do so. England has obviously won the most times – 13 – the first coming way back in March 1885.

Visiting sides winning a Test series in Australia

Series winsCountryFirst series winLast series winSeries playedSeries LostSeries Drawn
13EnglandMarch 1885January 201141235
4West IndiesJanuary 1980January 201615101
3South AfricaJanuary 2009November 20161153
1New ZealandDecember 1985NA1283
1IndiaJanuary 2019NA1283

Note: South Africa have won its last three Test series in Australia.


The number of Indian captains who have the distinction of winning an away Test series. Virat Kohli, incidentally, became the first Asian to win a Test series in Australia.

Indian captains winning away Test series

CaptainSeries winsOpponentYearResult
Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi1New Zealand19683-1 (4)
Ajit Wadekar2West Indies19711-0 (5)
  England19711-0 (3)
Kapil Dev1England19862-0 (3)
Mohammad Azharuddin1Sri Lanka19931-0 (3)
Sourav Ganguly4Bangladesh20001-0 (1)
  Pakistan2004*2-1 (3)
  Bangladesh20042-0 (2)
  Zimbabwe20052-0 (2)
Rahul Dravid3West Indies20061-0 (4)
  Bangladesh20071-0 (2)
  England20071-0 (3)
M. S. Dhoni3New Zealand2009**1-0 (3)
  Bangladesh2010#2-0 (2)
  West Indies20111-0 (3)
Virat Kohli4Sri Lanka20152-1 (3)
  West Indies20161-0 (3)
  Sri Lanka20173-0 (3)
  Australia20192-1 (4)

* Dravid was the stand-in captain for the first Test that India won and the second that it lost. Ganguly returned for the third Test, which India won.

** Sehwag captained India in the second second Test that was drawn.

# Sehwag captained India in the first Test that India won.


The number of times the Indian bowlers have not allowed the opposition batsmen to register a three-figure score in a Test series of four or more matches. The series in Australia was the first time India has been able to do so in a Test series away from home.

Fewest centuries scored by the opposition batsmen against India in a Test series of four or more matches

100s50sOpponentVenueYearHighest scoreByResult
02South AfricaIndia2015-1685A. B. De VilliersIndia won 3-0 (4)
08AustraliaAustralia2018-1979Marcus HarrisIndia won 2-1 (4)
110PakistanIndia1952-53124*Nazar MohammadIndia won 2-1 (5)
115PakistanIndia1979-80126Mudassar NazarIndia won 2-0 (6)
112AustraliaIndia2012-13130Michael ClarkeIndia won 4-0 (4)
110West IndiesWest Indies2016137Roston ChaseIndia won 2-0 (4)


Queries Corner

Could you please provide details of Cheteshwar Pujara’s triple centuries in all classes of cricket? – Suresh Damani, Ahmedabad.

Chesteshwar Pujara has so far hit six triple centuries in his cricketing career, including in junior cricket.

ScoreForOpponentVenueMonth, yearTournament
306*Saurashtra under-14Baroda under-14VadodaraJanuary 2001National under-14 tournament
386Saurashtra under-22Maharashtra under-22Rajkot (Racecourse)October 2008C. K. Nayudu Trophy+
309Saurashtra under-22Mumbai under-22Rajkot (Racecourse)October 2008C. K. Nayudu Trophy+
302*SaurashtraOrissaRajkotNovember 2008Ranji Trophy
352SaurashtraKarnatakaRajkot (University)January 2013Ranji Trophy
306*India AWest Indies AHubliOctober 2013'A’ Test match

+ not first-class. Note: His 386 and 309 came in the same week.

Bihar’s Ashutosh Aman recently broke the record of Bishan Singh Bedi for the most wickets in a Ranji Trophy season. Whose record did Bedi break when he claimed 64 wickets in 1974-75. Also, who is the first bowler to claim 50 wickets in a Ranji Trophy season? – Ajay Jha, Patna.

Bihar’s Ashutosh Aman with 68 wickets is now the leading wicket-taker in a Ranji season. Bishan Singh Bedi in 1974-75 had bettered the record of Tamil Nadu’s S. Venkataraghavan, who during the 1972-73 Ranji season had claimed 58 wickets. Bombay’s Ramakant Desai was the first to claim 50 wickets in a Ranji season during 1958-59. He claimed exactly 50 wickets in what was incidentally his debut season.

Sri Lankan Tissara Perera in the second One-Day International match against New Zealand conceded 69 runs without taking a wicket, but managed to score a century. How often has this happened in ODIs? – Ajay Mathur, Ujjain.

Tissara Perera during the recent ODI match against New Zealand at the Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui, conceded 69 runs in seven overs without any success, but he did manage to score 140. I could locate one other instance, when England’s Moeen Ali made 102 against the West Indies at Bristol in September 2017, but then conceded 65 runs without a wicket in his 10 overs.

Rishabh Pant recorded the second Test 100 of his career at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Among Indian keepers, who has the most centuries in Tests? – Ashish Kote, Pune.

That record is currently held by M. S. Dhoni, who has six Test hundreds against his name. Wriddiman Saha has three, while Budhi Kunderan, Farokh Engineer, Syed Kirmani and now Pant have two Test centuries each.

Note: All figures above are updated as on January 12, 2019.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :