A new Asia Cup record

M. S. Dhoni has an enviable record as a captain in all formats.   -  AFP


The number of times India has won the Asia Cup, including the Twenty20 edition in 2016. However, the country’s six Asia Cup titles in the One-Day International format is now the most by any side in the history of the competition. Sri Lanka, which failed to qualify for the Super Four, has won it on five occasions, followed by Pakistan with two titles.

Asia Cup winners

DateVenueWinnerRunner-upWinning captainTotal teamsOther participants
April 13, 1984 *SharjahIndiaSri LankaSunil Gavaskar3Pakistan
April 6, 1986Colombo SSCSri LankaPakistanDuleep Mendis3Bangladesh
November 4, 1988DhakaIndiaSri LankaDilip Vengsarkar4Bangladesh, Pakistan
January 4, 1991KolkataIndiaSri LankaMohammad Azharuddin3Bangladesh
April 14, 1995SharjahIndiaSri LankaMohammad Azharuddin4Bangladesh, Pakistan
July 26, 1997Colombo SSCSri LankaIndiaArjuna Ranatunga4Bangladesh, Pakistan
June 7, 2000DhakaPakistanSri LankaMoin Khan4Bangladesh, India
August 1, 2004Colombo RPSSri LankaIndiaMarvan Atapattu6Bangladesh, Hong Kong, Pakistan, UAE
July 6, 2008KarachiSri LankaIndiaMahela Jayawardene6Bangladesh, Hong Kong, Pakistan, UAE
June 24, 2010DambullaIndiaSri LankaM. S. Dhoni4Bangladesh, Pakistan
March 22, 2012MirpurPakistanBangladeshMisbah-ul-Haq4India, Sri Lanka
March 8, 2014MirpurSri LankaPakistanAngelo Mathews5Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India
March 6, 2016 +MirpurIndiaBangladeshM. S. Dhoni8Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Oman, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, UAE
September 28, 2018DubaiIndiaBangladeshRohit Sharma6Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

* The inaugural tournament in 1984 did not have a final. India and Sri Lanka were placed first and second on points.

+ The 2016 edition was a T20I affair in Mirpur in February-March 2016.



The number of times Pakistan’s bowlers have conceded 200-plus runs for the opening wicket in ODI cricket. The 210-run stand between Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan at Dubai on September 23, 2018, was the second highest by any side against Pakistan.

Highest opening partnerships against Pakistan in ODIs

RunsOversRun rateForBatsmenVenueDateInnings
28441.36.84AustraliaDavid Warner, Travis HeadAdelaidiJanuary 26, 2017First
21033.36.27IndiaRohit Sharma, Shikhar DhawanDubaiSeptember 23, 2018Second
20233.36.03Sri LankaUpul Tharanga, Mahela JayawardeneDambullaAugust 3, 2009Second
19332.45.91New ZealandStephen Fleming, Nathan AstleDunedinFebruary 28, 2001Second
190385South AfricaGary Kirsten, Mike RindelJohannesburgJanuary 12, 1995First

Note: Pakistan lost all these matches.



The number of times India’s openers have put on 200-plus runs for the opening wicket in ODI cricket. The 210-run stand between Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan at Dubai on September 23, 2018, was the fourth highest against any opponent.

Highest opening partnerships by India in ODIs

RunsOversRun rateAgainstBatsmenVenueDateInnings
25841.46.19KenyaSourav Ganguly, Sachin TendulkarPaarlOctober 24, 2001First
25243.65.73Sri LankaSourav Ganguly, Sachin TendulkarColombo RPSJuly 7, 1998First
23134.66.6South AfricaAjinkya Rahane, Shikhar DhawanCuttackNovember 2, 2014First
21033.36.27PakistanRohit Sharma, Shikhar DhawanDubaiSeptember 23, 2018Second
201*23.38.55New ZealandGautam Gambhir, Virender SehwagHamiltonMarch 11, 2009Second



The number of matches taken by Kuldeep Yadav to reach his 50th wicket in ODI cricket. This is now the second quickest by a spin bowler to reach the landmark. Sri Lanka’s Ajantha Mendis achieved it in 19 matches in January 2009. Only six bowlers in ODI cricket history have done it in less than 25 matches.

Fewest matches to reach 50 ODI wickets

MatchesInningsBowlerCountryAgainstVenueAchieved onDaysAgeStrike rate
1918Ajantha MendisSri LankaZimbabweMirpurJanuary 12, 200927823 years, 307 days16.57
2323Ajit AgarkarIndiaZimbabweHarareSeptember 30, 199818320 years, 300 days24.84
2323Mitchell McClenaghanNew ZealandSouth AfricaMt MaunganuiOctober 24, 201464428 years, 135 days23.78
2424Dennis LilleeAustraliaIndiaSydneyDecember 18, 19803,03931 years, 153 days28.50
2424Hasan AliPakistanSri LankaAbu DhabiOctober 18, 201742723 years, 253 days23.88
2422Kuldeep Yadav *IndiaHong KongDubaiSeptember 18, 201845323 years, 278 days24.32

* Kuldeep Yadav needed just 22 innings to reach 50 wickets, the second fewest innings after Mendis.



The number of matches taken by Yuzvendra Chahal</TypographyTag11> to reach his 50th wicket in ODI cricket. This is now the second quickest by an Indian spin bowler to reach the landmark and the fifth Indian overall to do so in 30 or fewer games.

Fastest Indians to 50 ODI wickets

MatchesInningsBowlerAgainstVenueAchieved onDaysAgeStrike rate
2323Ajit AgarkarZimbabweHarareSeptember 30, 199818320 years, 300 days24.84
2422Kuldeep Yadav *Hong KongDubaiSeptember 18, 201845323 years, 278 days24.32
2828Jasprit BumrahNew ZealandKanpurOctober 29, 201764623 years, 327 days28.02
2929Mohammed ShamiAfghanistanMirpurMarch 5, 201442423 years, 183 days29.82
3029Yuzvendra ChahalPakistanDubaiSeptember 23, 201883528 years, 62 days31.58


Queries Corner

How many batsmen (excluding players from Test nations but including players from Ireland and Afghanistan) other than Mohammad Shahzad have managed to score ODI centuries against India? – Abhay Chaturvedi, Agra.

Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shahzad is the first to do so against India, on September 25. Just a week before Shahzad’s effort, on September 18, Hong Kong opener Nizakat Khan made 92 against India. Before the recent Asia Cup tournament, the previous highest against India was the 83 from Kenya’s Maurice Odumbe at Gwalior on May 28, 1998.

How often have batsmen been dismissed on 99 in ODI cricket? – Ashish Khakar, Vadodara.

Bangladesh’s Mushfiqur Rahim’s recent 99 against Pakistan at Abu Dhabi was the 47th instance of an ODI batsman missing a century by one run. This tally also includes the 14 instances where the batsmen were unbeaten. This means there have been 33 instances of batsmen being dismissed one short of a century. India’s Sachin Tendulkar has done so the most, being dismissed on 99 three times, followed by Sri Lanka’s Sanath Jayasuriya with two (both dismissed).

Shikhar Dhawan held four catches against Bangladesh in Dubai. I remember Sunil Gavaskar pouching four against Pakistan at Sharjah in the 1980s. Has any other Indian fielder taken these many catches in an ODI match? – Kirti Suresh, Pune.

Shikhar Dhawan became the seventh Indian fielder to claim four catches in an ODI match. Gavaskar, as you mentioned, did so in the Rothman’s Trophy on March 22, 1985, and was the first Indian to do so. The others to emulate him before Dhawan were Mohammad Azharuddin (in 1997), Sachin Tendulkar (1998), Rahul Dravid (1999), Mohammad Kaif (2003) and V. V. S. Laxman (2004). Incidentally, Dhawan became the first fielder to hold four catches in the Asia Cup competition.

Could you please provide M. S. Dhoni’s record as a captain for India in all three formats? – Ishan Monga, Gwalior.

FormatSpanMatchesWinsLossesTiesDraws/No resultWin percentage