Bangladesh seeks redemption against New Zealand

Mashrafe Mortaza's men will seek a consolation win and restore some pride but it remains to be seen whether the Black Caps take their foot off the gas ahead of the knockouts.

Mashrafe Mortaza's men will seek a consolation win and restore some pride.   -  AP

Shaken after losing to India in a cliffhanger, a demoralised Bangladesh will look to end its campaign on a high when it faces a rampaging New Zealand in a ICC World Twenty20 dead rubber at Eden Gardens here tomorrow.

Bangladesh's thrilling one-run loss against India on Wednesday ended its semi-final hopes after failing to secure a win in the tournament.

The Black Caps, who have already sealed a final-four berth, on the other hand, would look to top Group 2 with an all-win record as they have emerged from being a 'lesser team' to the team to beat in the sixth edition of the World T20.

>Mashrafe Mortaza's men will seek a consolation win and restore some pride but it remains to be seen whether the Black Caps take their foot off the gas ahead of the knockouts.


This will be Bangladesh's second outing of the World T20 at the Eden and the familiar conditions in front of an expected crowd support closer to home would certainly boost the team's morale after its heart-aching loss to India.

Opening its Super 10 campaign here, Bangladesh was handed out a 55-run loss by Pakistan but it raised its standard to scare the mighty Australia and India.

Certainly Bangladesh is punching over its weight with its creditable performances against India and Australia and have won the hearts, it's time that it displays some maturity and calm demeanour to win a match.

Two runs needed from last three balls, it was Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah's over-enthusiasm that cost Bangladesh the match against India.

Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan and Sabbir Rahaman have shown flashes of brilliance and despite the suspension of its two in-form bowlers Taskin Ahmed and Arafat Sunny, Bangladesh has been resilient.

Bangladesh will have to focus and put the disappointment behind so as to secure its first win against New Zealand, who have a 3-0 win-loss record in T20Is.

From out-spinning India with a dose of its own medicine, to outmanoeuvring its trans-Tasman rival Australia, New Zealand was the first to seize its place in semis with a clinical win over Pakistan en route to securing a third victory on the trot.

In the turning wicket of Nagpur, New Zealand have showcased its potent spin attack in Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi and the experienced Nathan McCullum to fox India in the tournament-opener.

Its batting depth was also underlined in the previous match when >Martin Guptill blasted 80 from 48 balls to lay the foundation for its 180 for five against Pakistan in Mohali.

With Guptill at the top and Ross Taylor in the lower middle-order, the batting unit is following the legacy left by Brendon McCullum.


Captain Kane Williamson, who is new to the job after the retirement of the hard-hitting opener McCullum, has shown his ability to forge a winning unit.

In Dharamshala, Williamson made one change to its line up bringing in Mitchell McClenaghan to replace the spinner Nathan McCullum and the leftarm pacer paid back derailing the Aussies small chase of 143 with his three for 17.

In all the three matches, New Zealand have batted first and defended totals of 126, 142 and 180, successfully and it may look to test its chasing ability as well as give others some chance.

Its two premier bowlers -- Tim Southee and Trent Boult -- have not played a single match so far as the likes of Adam Milne, Corey Anderson and McClenaghan have formed its pace bowling attack.

It remains to be seen whether the team think-tank decides to give the duo an opportunity ahead of the semi-finals.

New Zealand had reached the semis of the World T20 only once (at the inaugural event in 2007) and was primed to win the ODI World Cup before succumbing to Australia in Melbourne last year.

This will be another chance to make amends and have a feel of the conditions, should it make the summit clash on April 3.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt.), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, Grant Elliott, Colin Munro, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt.), Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rehman, Abu Hider, Nurul Hasan, Al-Amin Hossain, Nasir Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammed Mithun, Mustafizur Rahman, Saqlain Sajib and Shuvagata Hom.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :