Arjun Kadhe, Zeel Desai to headline National Tennis Championship

Arjun Khade is expected to be the men's top seed and Zeel Desai is likely to take the top billing in the women's section when the national championship gets underway on October 1.

Arjun Kadhe will be the top seed at the National championship.   -  R. Ragu

Arjun Kadhe is expected to be the top seed in the men’s event of the Fenesta National tennis championship scheduled to be held at the DLTA Complex from October 1.

Manish Sureshkumar, Sidharth Rawat, Suraj Prabodh, Sidharth Vishwakarma, Nitin Kumar Sinha, Mohit Mayur are the other top players expected to compete, apart from national champion VM Ranjeet.

In the absence of the system of wild cards for the main draw, the organisers have the provision of two ‘’Special Exempt’’ entry in the men’s and women’s sections, as well as the juniors.

Defending champion Mahak Jain is expected to be the second seed behind Zeel Desai in the women’s event. Sai Samhitha, Humera Shaik, four-time national champion Prerna Bhambri, Nithya Raj, Mihika Yadav, Natasha Palha, Shweta Rana, Nidhi Chilumula, Sowjanya Bavisetti are some of the other prominent players scheduled to compete in the women’s event.

The first week will also feature the junior events in the under-18 section. Bright young players Sidhant Banthia, Megh Bhargav Patel, Mann Maulik Shah, Calvin Golmei, Dev Javia, Abhimanyu Vannem Reddy, Ajay Malik are scheduled to be the top entries in the boys section which will be played in a draw of 64.

The girls event will have Sharannya Gaware, Salsa, Aher, Kaavya Sawhney, Prinkle Singh, Bhakti Parwani, sarah Dev, Prerna Vichare, Sanya Singh among others.

The second week of the championship will feature the under-16 and 14 events.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :