Fernandez, Stephens, Muguruza on Billie Jean King Cup teams

The host Czech Republic will be led by 2021 French Open singles and doubles champion Krejcikova for the tournament which will be played from November 1 to November 6.

FILE PHOTO: France had won the last edition of the Billie Jean King Cup in 2019, then known as the Fed Cup, after beating Australia in the final.   -  GETTY IMAGES

Grand Slam champions Garbine Muguruza, Sloane Stephens, Victoria Azarenka, Angelique Kerber and Barbora Krejcikova and US Open runner-up Leylah Fernandez were among the players named on Monday for the 12 teams at next month’s Billie Jean King Cup Finals.

Defending champion France returns with Caroline Garcia, Alize Cornet and Fiona Ferro from the group that won the event in 2019. The 2020 edition was called off because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Matches will be played in Prague on November 1-6.

READ: Barty opts out of Australian team for Billie Jean King Cup Finals

The host Czech Republic will be led by 2021 French Open singles and doubles champion Krejcikova.

She is joined by Marketa Vondrousova, the 2019 French Open runner-up and Tokyo Olympics singles silver medalist, and Katerina Siniakova, who was Krejcikova’s doubles partner for three Grand Slam doubles titles and a gold medal at the Summer Games.

Olympic singles champion Belinda Bencic is on Switzerland’s team, while Muguruza will play for Spain along with Carla Suarez Navarro, Azarenka is on the Belarus roster, Kerber leads Germany, Fernandez is on Canada's team and Stephens is joined by Jessica Pegula, Danielle Collins, Coco Vandeweghe and Caroline Dolehide on the US roster.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :