Fenesta National Tennis Championship: Paras Dahiya rallies well to get past Karan Singh

Top seed and former champion Nikki Poonacha defeated Sai Karteek Redddy Ganta, while Paras Dahiya edged out Karan Singh at the Fenesta Open national tennis championships on Tuesday.

Paras Dahiya defeated national junior champion Karan Singh at the Fenesta National tennis championship on Tuesday.

Paras Dahiya overcame an energetic Karan Singh, scripting a 6-2, 7-5 victory in the men’s first round of the Fenesta National tennis championship at the DLTA Complex here on Tuesday.

A trainee of the Altevol Academy in Ahmedabad, fourth seeded Dahiya had spent the last few weeks in Germany to develop his game. He was sharp to bounce back in both the sets, after Karan had taken the initiative with early breaks.

Dahiya recovered his touch to win the first set after being down 2-0, even as Singh lost his focus to a string of questionable line calls, most of which went against him.


In the second set, Singh, the national junior champion, looked to have regained his rhythm, but lost his grip after being up 4-0.

Fenesta National Tennis Championship: Reshma, Digvijay shine in first round  

Quite remarkably, Dahiya won three games without dropping a point to reach 3-4, and dropped only five points in winning the last four games of the match.

A wiry left-hander who whips his shots and serves with a relish, former national champion Siddharth Vishwakarma broke little sweat in knocking out second seed Ishaque Eqbal for the loss of four games.

Another former national champion, Vishnu Vardhan got past Adil Kalyanpur, who had been out of the circuit in recent weeks. Vishnu will face third seed Nitin Kumar Sinha in the second round.

In the women’s event, Vanshita Pathania rallied with her forceful game to beat four-time National champion Prerna Bhambri in three sets.

Smriti Bhasin was equally resilient in prevailing over sixth seed Mihika Yadav in three sets.


Men's singles: (First Round) Paras Dahiya (seeded 4) bt Karan Singh 6-2,7-5; Abhinav S Sanjeev (seeded 5) bt Chandril Sood 6-1,6-3; Nitin Kumar Sinha (seeded 3) bt Neeraj Yashpaul 6-1,6-1; Nikki K Poonacha (seeded 1) bt Sai Karteek Reddy Ganta 6-4, 6-3; Jatin Dahiya bt Parikshit Somani 6-1, 6-2; Faisal Qamar bt Vivek Gautam 6-2,6-3; Siddharth Vishwakarma bt Ishaque Eqbal (seeded 2) 6-1,6-3; Kaza Vinayak Sharma bt Boopathy Sakthivel 6-4,6-1; Vishnu Vardhan bt Adil Kalyanpur 6-4,6-3

Women's singles: (First Round) Farhat Aleen Qamar bt Shefali Arora 6-2,6-0; Shruti Ahlawat bt Pooja Ingale 6-0, 6-2; Sudipta Senthil Kumar bt Priyanshi Sankesh Bhandari 6-3, 7-6 (1); Sravya Shivani Chilakalapudi (seeded 3) bt Srinidhi S 6-3, 7-5; Sharmada Balu bt Rishika Sunkara 6-0,1-0 (Ret.); Vaidehi C Chaudhari (seeded 2) bt Niyati Kukreti 6-3,6-0; Smriti Bhasin bt Mihika Yadav (seeded 6) 7-6(1), 5-7, 6-4; Vanshita Pathania bt Prerna Bhambri (seeded 8) 2-6, 7-5, 6-1

Men's Doubles: (First Round) Sai Karteek Reddy Ganta/ Madhwin Kamath bt Chinmaya Dev Chauhan/ Abhishek Gaur 6-1, 6-1; Hemant Kaur/Himanshu Mor bt Raghav Jaisinghani/ Neeraj Yashpaul 6-3, 6-3; Paras Dahiya/ Ishaque Eqbal bt Anvit Bendre/ Parikshit Somnani (seeded 4) 4-6, 6-3,10-8; Kunal Anand/ Lakshay Gupta bt Jatin Dahiya/ Dalwinder Singh 6-3, 6-4; Chandril Sood/ Lakshit Sood bt Lohith Aksha Bathrinath/ Prithvi Sekar 6-4, 6-4.