Halep first to seal WTA Finals spot

The honour of being the first qualifier for this year's WTA Finals goes to French Open champion Simona Halep.

Simona Halep   -  Getty Images

Simona Halep became the first player to secure a spot in the 2018 WTA Finals after her triumph in the Rogers Cup final.

The world number one, who overcame Sloane Stephens in a repeat of the French Open final, booked her place as one of eight competitors in Singapore.

Halep failed to get out of the group at last year's event, but will be fancied to prevail this time around.

The only change in the top eight saw Elise Mertens climb into the reckoning, replacing former rankings leader Karolina Pliskova.

Mertens, a semi-finalist in Montreal, did not qualify for the 2017 Finals. 

The other six players in the top eight are Angelique Kerber, reigning champion Caroline Wozniacki, Petra Kvitova, Elina Svitolina, Stephens and Daria Kasatkina. 

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos