Kyrgios dethrones Djokovic at Indian Wells

Australian 15th seed Nick Kyrgios triumphed 6-4 7-6 (7-3) over Novak Djokovic on Wednesday.

Australian 15th seed Nick Kyrgios   -  Getty Images

A different tournament but same result for Nick Kyrgios, who upstaged three-time defending champion Novak Djokovic to book his spot in the BNP Paribas Open quarterfinal.

Kyrgios stunned Djokovic in the pair's first meeting in Acapulco earlier in March and the Australian star repeated the feat against the second seed 6-4 7-6 (7-3) at Indian Wells on Wednesday.

With his service game almost flawless - recording 14 aces and winning 86 per cent of his first serves - Kyrgios was too hot to handle for the 12-time grand-slam champion as he now awaits either Roger Federer or Rafael Nadal in the last eight.

Kyrgios - seeded 15th - dominated from the outset on centre court in the Californian desert to end Djokovic's 19-match unbeaten run at the ATP 1000 event.

A three-time champion on the ATP World Tour, Kyrgios looked powerful from the baseline after breaking in the opening game as he consolidated for a 2-0 lead.

Djokovic appeared subdued and below his best, framing a forehand and firing long from the baseline.

At the other end of the court, Kyrgios was almost impenetrable on serve, firing down another ace to remain up a break.

Kyrgios produced a sublime drop shot to close in on a double break after Djokovic sent a foreland long but the Serbian star crucially held to stay in the set.

The Australian, however, was not to be denied on his serve, closing out the set with an ace, having chased down a drop shot and smashed a backhand cross court.

Djokovic stepped it up a gear in the second, taking the contest to Kyrgios as he tried to liven up the crowd.

The pair could not be separated as a tie-break loomed, Djokovic fending off two break points - the second with a passing forehand - in a thrilling 11th game.

With tensions high, Kyrgios threatened to lose focus but he kept his composure to send the set into a tie-break, where he overpowered the five-time champion.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :