Marin Cilic leads player field at Chennai Open 2017

Croatia's Marin Cilic and Borna Coric will lead the player field at the Chennai Open in 2017, according to a list released by the organisers on Wednesday. Other prominent players to participate in the tournament will be Tommy Robredo, Mikhail Youzhny, Martin Klizan and Spaniards Roberto Bautista Agut and Albert Ramos-Vinolas.

Marin Cilic, the World No. 6, will be the highest ranked player to participate in the Chennai Open in 2017.   -  Reuters

World No. 6 Marin Cilic of Croatia leads the players' field of the upcoming Aircel Chennai Open released on Wednesday. The star ensemble includes Borna Coric (also of Croatia), Martin Klizan of Slovakia, and Spaniards Roberto Bautista Agut and Albert Ramos-Vinolas.

Formerly in the world’s top-10, Tommy Robredo of Spain, and Mikhail Youzhny of Russia, also return to India - the former after 12 years, and the latter after two years.

“This is an impressive lineup. Tennis fans in India can expect high quality tennis this year,” said Tom Annear, the Tournament Director.

India’s campaign will be led by the wild-card entrant Ramkumar Ramanathan. The 22-year old rose to prominence when he beat Somdev Devvarman in the first round of the event in 2014. He’s currently No. 2 in the AITA rankings. “We have great faith in Ram. We believe he will go a long way in world tennis. Moreover, the Indian fans love him, and will give him all the support he needs,” said Tamil Nadu Tennis Association (TNTA) President M.A. Alagappan.

“It is great to see so many star players confirming their presence for this year’s event. We are quite sure that it will be a thrilling experience for the fans to see so many of their favourite stars live in action,” he added.

Player field (Name, Country, World ranking):

Marin Cilic (Croatia) 6;

Roberto Bautista Agut (Spain) 14;

Albert Vinolas Ramos (Spain) 27;

Martin Klizan (Slovakia) 35;

Benoit Paire (France) 47;

Borna Coric (Croatia) 48;

Tommy Robredo (Spain) 57;

Mikhail Youzhny (Russia) 57;

Yen-Hsun Lu (Taiwan) 64;

Guillermo Garcia-Lopez (Spain) 70;

Damir Dzumhur (Bosnia & Herzegovina) 78;

Konstantin Kravchuk (Russia) 81;

Gastao Elias (Portugal) 82;

Thiago Monteiro (Brazil) 83;

Renzo Olivo (Argentina) 84;

Steve Darcis (Belgium) 87;

Sela Dudi (Israel) 90;

Dusan Lajovic (Serbia) 95;

Radu Albot (Moldova) 97;

Rogerio Dutra Silva (Brazil) 99;

Daniil Medvedev (Russia) 100;

Wildcard entry: Ramkumar Ramanathan

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :