Pro Tennis League: Tennis Fanatics, Stag Babolat Yoddhas make final

Fanatics won 3-1, thanks to the efficient and energetic game of Kabir Hans, Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan and VM Ranjee

Kabir Hans (left) joins the celebration after VM Ranjeet and Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan clinch the tie for Tennis Fanatics against Vamos Delhi in the Pro Tennis League at the RK Khanna Stadium Complex on Friday.   -  Kamesh Srinivasan

Tennis Fanatics had its say, and made the final of the Pro Tennis League, even though the reigning National champion Siddharth Vishwakarma was able to assert his fighting qualities for Vamos Delhi, at the RK Khanna Stadium Complex on Friday.

Fanatics won 3-1, thanks to the efficient and energetic game of Kabir Hans, Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan and VM Ranjeet.

In the final, Tennis Fanatics will be challenged by Stag Babolat Yoddhas for which the young Madhwin Kamath continued to play a significant role, and provided the finishing touch with Saketh Myneni who hauled himself, despite inadequate levels of fitness, to win the
crucial singles against Vijay Sundar Prashanth.

For sheer entertainment and quality play, there was no match for the clash between the two fascinating left-handers, Jeevan, the doubles specialist competing at the highest level on the Pro Tour, and Siddharth Vishwakarma, who is trying to make an impact with his wiry
frame and whipping strokes.

READ: Indian Tennis: Some steps forward but no end to stagnation in mixed 2018

Jeevan hung on nicely to be on par and had two match points in the super tie-break, but failed to capitalise on them. Siddharth Vishwakarma managed to convert the second match point in the extended tie-break to keep Vamos Delhi afloat.

Kabir Hans had won his singles and the doubles with VM Ranjeet earlier to keep Tennis Fanatics ahead. In the fourth rubber, Jeevan and VM Ranjeet proved too much to handle for former Davis Cupper Vijayant Malik and Aditya Khanna.

In the other match, Stag Babolat Yoddhas was the favourite, and it emerged a smooth winner, even though Mohun’s Aces managed to win a point through Vijay Sundar Prashanth and Ashutosh Singh who blanked Mayur Vasant and Vishaal Uppal.

After Madhwin Kamath had given a flying start for the Yoddhas, beating Karan Srivastava, it was left to Saketh to gather all the energy he could muster to win his singles against Prashanth and later the doubles, in partnership with Madhwin, against Jagdish Tanwar and
Ashutosh Singh.

With the two young players, Kabir Hans and Madhwin Kamath set to clash in the opening rubber of the final, it should be an exciting contest on Saturday.

The results (semifinals):

Stag Babolat Yoddhas bt Mohun’s Aces 3-1 (Madhwin Kamath bt Karan Srivastava 6-2; Mayur Vasant & Vishaal Uppal lost to Vijay Sundar Prashanth & Ashutosh Singh 0-6; Saketh Myneni bt Vijay Sundar Prashanth 6-3; Madhwin Kamath & Saketh Myneni bt Jagdish Tanwar &
Ashutosh Singh 6-4).

Tennis Fanatics bt Vamos Delhi 3-1 (Kabir Hans bt Tarush Bagai 6-3; Kabir Hans & VM Ranjeet bt Tarush Bagai & Siddharth Vishwakarma 6-3; Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan lost to Siddharth Vishwakarma 6-7 (11-13); Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan & VM Ranjeeth bt Vijayant Malik & Aditya Khanna 6-0).
For more updates, follow Sportstar on :