Snehadevi in last four

Snehadevi, a former Asian junior champion who trains in Spain, will challenge three-time champion Prerna Bhambri in the semifinals.

A file photo of Snehadevi Reddy.   -  M. VEDHAN

Top-seed Snehadevi Reddy recovered from a sluggish start to beat sixth-seeded Eetee Maheta 1-6, 6-3, 6-1 in the women’s quarterfinals of the Fenesta National tennis championship at the DLTA Complex here on Thursday.

On another warm and windy day, Eetee, 19, a gutsy player who has made a few semifinals in the international circuit, teased an erratic Snehadevi in the first set. But, once the 18-year-old Snehadevi found her rhythm, she moved into her strokes to punch them with authority.

The match was scheduled to be on court No. 2, and a sudden call for a shift to court No. 6 had apparently caught Snehadevi unawares.

Snehadevi, a former Asian junior champion who trains in Spain, will challenge three-time champion Prerna Bhambri in the semifinals.

Prerna was fluent in taming the talented left-hander Sowjanya Bavisetti with surprising ease. For one who had beaten Prerna for the loss of four games in the semifinals on way to the title in the professional circuit in Aurangabad last year, Sowjanya, 21, was quite subdued this day.

The reigning Asian junior champion, Pranjala Yadlapalli, 17, sailed into the semifinals by outclassing Riya Bhatia after a keenly contested first set. Pranjala will face Sai Samhitha who put out former finalist Shweta Rana in straight sets.

In the men’s section, title aspirant Sriram Balaji was joined by three national champions, Mohit Mayur, VM Ranjeet and Vishnu Vardhan.

Defending champion Vishnu was in a spot of bother against Alex Solanki in the second set, but broke his opponent in the 11th game to serve out the match. Mohit Mayur beat the athletic Sidharth Rawat with remarkable assurance, but may have his hands full against Balaji on the morrow, mainly owing to his pronounced heavy movement.

The competition in the junior section was absolutely top class. The boys’ top seed, Aryan Goveas, survived five matchpoints, including four at 2-6 in the third set tie-break to tame the sweet-stroking Manish Sureshkumar. He will play Nitin Kumar Sinha who displayed his all-court game in getting past the talented Abhimanyu Vannem Reddy. At the crunch, Nitin Kumar was a class act, but Abhimanyu fought bravely till the end.

In the girls’ section, national junior champion Zeel Desai fought hard for a 6-4, 3-6, 6-4 victory over Jennifer Luikham, who lacked the consistency to make a match of it. Zeel will play Mahak Jain. Prinkle Singh recovered from being down 2-6, 4-5 to tame Lalita Devarakonda. Prinkle will face second-seeded Sathwika Sama in the semifinals.

The results:

Men (quarterfinals): Sriram Balaji bt Siddharth Vishwakarma 6-4, 6-4; Mohit Mayur bt Sidharth Rawat 6-3, 6-4; VM Ranjeet bt Shaikh Abdullah 6-2, 6-1; Vishnu Vardhan bt Alex Solanki 6-3, 7-5.

Doubles (semifinals): VM Ranjeet & Sriram Balaji bt PC Vignesh & Fariz Mohammed 6-3, 6-2; Shaikh Abdullah & Mohit Mayur bt Chandril Sood and Lakshit Sood 6-4, 6-3.

Women (quarterfinals): Snehadevi Reddy bt Eetee Maheta 1-6, 6-3, 6-1; Prerna Bhambri bt Sowjanya Bavisetti 6-1, 6-4; Pranjala Yadlapalli bt Riya Bhatia 6-4, 6-0; Sai Samhitha bt Shweta Rana 7-5, 6-3.

Doubles (semifinals): Rishika Sunkara & Sowjanya Bavisetti bt Shweta Rana & Shivika Burman 6-0, 6-2; Snehadevi Reddy & Dhruthi Venugopal bt Eetee Maheta & Sai Samhitha 7-6(5), 6-3.

Under-18 boys (quarterfinals): Aryan Goveas bt Manish Sureshkumar 6-4, 1-6, 7-6(6); Nitin Kumar Sinha bt Abhimanyu Vannem Reddy 6-7(5), 6-1, 6-4; Parikshit Somani bt Alex Solanki 3-6, 6-3, 6-3; BR Nikshep bt Abhinav Sanjeev 6-4, 6-4.

Doubles (semifinals): Adil Kalyanpur & Parikshit Somani bt Sumit Pal Singh & Shrey Gupta 6-3, 6-0; Param Pun & Paramveer Singh Bajwa bt Sanil Jagtiani & Ishaque Eqbal 6-7(4), 6-3, 10-7.

Under-18 girls (quarterfinals): Zeel Desai bt Jennifer Luikham 6-4, 3-6, 6-4; Mahak Jain bt Akanksha Bhan 6-1, 6-1; Prinkle Singh bt Lalita Devarakonda 2-6, 7-5, 6-2; Sathwika Sama bt Vaidehi Chaudhari 6-3, 6-1.

Doubles (semifinals): Sathwika Sama & Shivani Ingle bt Harsha Sai Challa & Avanthika Sai 7-6(5), 6-1; Prinkle Singh & Vaidehi Chaudhari bt Shivani Manjanna & Rashmika Rajan 6-2, 6-4.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :