IND vs SA, T20 World Cup 2024 Final LIVE gallery: India wins thriller to clinch title, ends 11-year drought

Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bat first

Rohit and Virat Kohli opened the innings for India while Marco Jansen started off with the ball

Kohli got off to a blistering start as he smacked three fours off Jansen’s over

Rohit, too, stepped on the gas pedal as he reverse swept a couple of balls for four but Keshav Maharaj had the last laugh as he sent the Indian skipper packing

Maharaj struck again as Pant miscued a sweep to Quinton de Kock behind the stumps. India was reduced to 23/2

South Africa claimed its third wicket inside the PowerPlay as Suryakumar Yadav was dismissed for a four-ball three

With Axar Patel and Kohli in the mdidle, India finished the PowerPlay with 45/3 on board

Kohli and Axar’s rescue act took India to 75/3 in 10 overs, and regained the lost momentum

The partnership was finally broken as Axar was run out after a brief mixup with Kohli. India was 106/4 in the 14th over

Kohli fought sensibly and got to his half century in 48 deliveries. His 50 included four fours

Kohli and Dube added 57 runs off 33 balls for the fifth wicket before the former got out trying to pull over deep midwicket

India finished with 176/7 on board in 20 overs - the highest team score in a T20 World Cup final!

Reeza Hendricks and Quinton de Kock opened the chase for SA while Arshdeep Singh started off with the ball

Jasprit Bumrah delivered just what the doctor ordered as he rattled the stumps of Hendricks with a peach of a delivery

Arshdeep Singh got rid of Aiden Markram as South Africa was reduced for 12/2 in the third over

De Kock and Tristian Stubbs did not let the momentum slip further as they took on bowlers constantly

Axar struck in his second over as he got rid of Stubbs who tried to sweep and failed

Another quickfire partnership between Heinrich Klaasen and de Kock meant India was put on the backfoot

Arshdeep then came in to claim the wicket of de Kock to bring India back into the game. SA was 106/4 in the 13th over

Klaasen played a match-defining knock as he smacked 24 runs in Axar’s over as the required run rate dropped drastically

David Miller and Klaasen changed the course of the match in a matter of couple of overs. SA needed 26 to win from 24 balls

Hardik and Bumrah picked one wicket apiece in consecutive overs as Klaasen and Jansen were sent back to the dugout

With Miller and Keshav Maharaj in the middle, SA needed 16 to win off the last over

In a dramatic turn of events, India ended it’s 11-year wait to finally lay hands on an ICC trophy!