RCB vs SRH IPL 2024, Match in Pictures: Dinesh Karthik knock in vain as Bengaluru loses by 25 runs

Faf du Plessis won the toss and RCB elected to field first

SRH named an unchanged XI while RCB had two changes. Lockie Ferguson and Saurav Chauhan replaced Glenn Maxwell and Mohammed Siraj

Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma opened for SRH while Will Jacks started off with the ball

The PowerPlay belonged to SRH as both the openers dominated, accumulating 76 at the end of six overs

The duo added 108 runs for the first wicket before Reece Topley managed to get rid of Abhishek, who departed after scoring 50 off 27 balls

But the onslaught continued from the other end as Head was unstoppable. The Aussie got to his maiden IPL century in just 39 balls

After Head fell, Heinrich Klaasen maintained the momentum and smashed a 23-ball 50 as SRH was 205/2 in 15 overs

Abdul Samad and Aiden Markram combined to take SRH to 287/3 in 20 overs, the highest-ever total in the history of IPL

RCB notched up a second unwanted IPL record: Most runs conceded in an innings and the lowest-ever team total (49 vs KKR)

Virat Kohli and Du Plessis opened the chase with a daunting task ahead of them

The opening duo went all guns blazing and took RCB past the 100-run mark inside 8 overs but were still well behind the required run rate

After Virat’s dismissal, RCB kept losing wickets at regular intervals with the run rate climbing to unattainable levels

Despite Dinesh Karthik trying his best at the death, RCB succumbed to a 25-run loss, it’s fifth defeat on the trot