Nat'l Badminton: PSPB storms into final

Despite PSPB starting on a jarring note with Guru Sai Dutt losing the first match, G. Ruthvika Shivani and the best men’s pair from India of Manu Attri and Pranaav Chopra made sure PSPB had no further hiccups.

Manu Attri (left) and N. Sikki Reddy of PSPB celebrate a point during their mixed doubles match against Maharashtra in the Senior National badminton team championship semifinal in Nagpur on Thursday.   -  V.V. SUBRAHMANYAM

Defending champions, Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB), marched into the team championship final with a 3-1 win over Maharashtra in the Senior national badminton championship at the Divisional Sports Complex here on Thursday.

This despite the jarring note with the fancied R.M.V. Guru Sai Dutt losing to the less experienced, 21-year-old Kaushal Dharmamer 14-21, 22-20, 11-21 in their maiden clash ever after the mixed doubles combine of Manu Attri and N. Sikki Reddy ensured a winning start with a fluent 21-16, 21-14 win over Akshay Dewalkar and Sanjana Santosh.

READ: Srikanth achieves career-best World No. 2 ranking

Later, G. Ruthvika Shivani made short work of Neha Pandit 21-17, 21-15 and soon the best men’s pair from India of Manu Attri and Pranaav Chopra defeated Akshay Dewalkar and Prasad Shetty 21-13, 21-9 to give PSPB an easy win in the end.

In the other semi-final, Madhya Pradesh defeated Manipur 3-1.

Earlier in the morning session, there was an upset when Madhya Pradesh surprised last year’s runner-up Airports Authority of India with a 3-2 win in the quarterfinal.


Team championship: Semifinals: PSPB bt Maharashta 3-1 (Manu Attri & N. Sikki Reddy bt Akshay Dewalkar & Sanjana Santosh 21-16, 21-14; R.M.V. Guru Sai Dutt lost to Kaushal Dharmamer 14-21, 22-20, 11-21; G. Ruthvika Shivani bt Neha Pandit 21-12, 21-15; Manu Attri & Pranaav Chopra bt Akshay Dewalkar & Prasad Shetty 21-13, 21-9).

MP bt Manipur 3-1 (Kushboo Patel & Shubham Prajapati bt K. Dingku Singh & N. Purnima Devi 19-21, 21-19, 21-16; Shubham Prajapati lost to Maisnam Meiraba 12-21, 22-20, 18-21; Shriyanshi Pardeshi bt Angita Naorem 21-4, 21-5; Alap Mishra & Abhimanyu Singh bt Manjit Singh Khwairakpam & Dingku Singh Konthoujam 21-19, 22-20).

Quarterfinals: PSPB bt AP 3-0 (N. Sikki Reddy & Pranaav Chopra bt P. Sonika Sai & R. Satwik Sai Raj 21-16, 21-12; B. Sai Praneeth bt K. Sai Charan 20-22, 21-9, 21-17; G. Ruthvika Shivani bt M. Tanishq 21-10, 21-16).

Maharashtra bt UP 3-2 (Akshay Dewalkar & Sanjana Santosh bt Tapaswini Samantroy & Tushar Sharma 21-13, 21-15; Kaushal Dharmender bt Ansal Yadav 21-17, 21-9; Neha Pandit lost to Amolika Singh 17-21, 20-22; Akshay Dewalkar & Prasad Shetty lost to Tushar Sharma & Ansal Yadav 17-21, 20-22; Vaishnavi Bhale & Sanjana Santosh bt Shruti Mishra & Samriddhi Singh 21-10, 21-17).

Manipur bt Haryana 3-1 (Dingku Sing Konthoujam & N. Purnima Devi bt Balraj Kajla  Nikita Kalra 21-12, 22-13; Maisnam Meiraba bt Aman Kumar 21-11, 21-17; Angita Naorem lost to Ira Sharma 17-21, 13-21; Manjit Singh Khwairakpam & Dingku Sing Konthoujam bt Hardik Makkar & Himanshu Saroha 25-23, 21-12).

MP bt AAI 3-2 (Khushboo Patel & Shubham Prajapati lost to Mahima Aggarwal & Slok Ramchandran 13-21, 14-21; Shubham Prajapati bt Pratul Joshi 21-8, 21-15; Shriyanshi Pardeshi bt Aakarshi Kashyap 21-17, 22-20; Piyush Bobade & Pramesh Patidar lost to M.R. Arjun & Shlok Ramchandran 9-21, 13-21; Shriyanshi Pardeshi & Khushboo Patel bt Mahima Agarwal & Karishma Wadkar 21-15, 21-13).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :