In Pictures: 75 years of India-Australia Test cricket - Top moments

India and Australia Test series, starting on Thursday in Nagpur, will mark the 75th year of bilateral cricket between the two nations. The four-match series will also be their 28th. Cricketing ties between India and Australia kicked off in the year of India’s independence in 1947.

Can't reach it: India's Vijay Hazare jumps in the air in a futile effort to dismiss McCool of Australia off the bowling of Amarnath during the second Test at Sydney played from December 12-18, 1947. Photo Credit: THE HINDU ARCHIVES
Maiden victory: Indian bowler Jasu Patel returns to the pavilion after taking 14 wickets for 124 runs, helping India to register its maiden victory against Australia during the second Test at Kanpur on December 24, 1959. India won the match by 119 runs. Photo Credit: THE HINDU ARCHIVES
Allan Border being caught by Vengsarkar off the bowling of Shivlal Yadav during the sixth Test at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, on November 6, 1979. India won the match by an innings and 100 runs to notch up its maiden Test series victory over Australia. Photo Credit: THE HINDU ARCHIVES
Harbhajan Singh, who took seven wickets for 123 runs in the first innings, celebrates his hat-trick, dismissing Ricky Ponding in India's historic victory over Steve Waugh's mighty Australia at the Eden Gardens, Calcutta, on March 11, 2001. Photo Credit: V.V. Krishnan
Rahul Dravid and V.V.S Laxman, who scored 180 and 281 runs respectively, having a mid-pitch strategic meeting during their 306 runs fifth-wicket partnership in the Calcutta Test at Eden Gardens. Photo Credit: V.V. Krishnan
Defying the odd: Legendary Sachin Tendulkar produced an innings of grit against Australia by not playing any shot on his off side as Adam Gilchrist looked on. Tendulkar scored an unbeaten 241 as India drew the series 1-1 at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 5, 2004. Photo Credit: V.V Krishnan.
Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane take a victory lap as India celebrates its maiden Test series victory on Australian soil at the Sydney Cricket Ground on January 7, 2019. Photo Credit: Getty Images
Commanding win: Indian players and staff parade around The Gabba after their dramatic three-wicket win against Australia that enabled India to retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy on January 19, 2021. Photo Credit: Getty Images
For more updates, follow Sportstar on :
Download Sportstar App
Download Sportstar App
 Pen, Paper and Podcast with Vijay Lokapally
Connect With Us